TL Davis: If The Darkness Descends


TL’s latest.

To be or to do.

Choose wisely.

9 responses to “TL Davis: If The Darkness Descends

  1. Prairie Fire

    The second link is worthwhile for people who have already read up on Boyd.

    In that case, you already know that his genius and family life might have caused problems.

    I wouldn’t have wanted to be one of his kids.

  2. thomaspaine861

    You can leave Boyd’s name off the piece and it still rings exceedingly true – you can be true to yourself and your principles (and your faith) and probably get nowhere, but you’ll keep your integrity and self-respect. Or you can sell out like most of our politicians have, become rich and famous, and become a legend inyour own mind. But you won’t have that self-respect – and you’ll probably be hated by most.

  3. To do.
    Never was any good at kissing ass anyway.

  4. If the darkness descends, then stick a Roman Candle up the ass of the nearest collectivist, and hatchet his nearest friend. Then load your damned rifle and get the rest. Fuck this mealy-mouthed, WTF are we gonna do crap. Let’s get some, and piss on any one who wants to talk about it. If you want the light, bring the heat.

  5. Two roads diverged in a yellow wood
    And sorry I could not travel both and be one traveler
    Long I stood and looked down one as far as I could
    to where it bent in the undergrowth

    Then took the other, as just as fair
    And having perhaps the better claim
    in that it was grassy and wanted wear
    Though as for that the passing there
    had worn them really about the same

    And both that morning equally lay
    In leaves no step had trodden black
    Oh I kept the first for another day
    Yet knowing how way leads on to way
    I doubted if I should ever come back

    I shall be telling this with a sigh
    Somewhere ages and ages hence
    Two roads diverged in a wood and I,
    I took the one less traveled by
    And that has made all the difference
    “The Road Not Taken” Robert Frost 1920

    I heard this for the first time in 1963. Recited by my fifth grade teacher, Miss Cronin, and I got it immediately, and it has made all the difference.
    I’m here aren’t I?
    Miss Cronin also had us recite the Preamble to the Constitution.
    Every morning. Drilled it into us. I could recite it almost without taking a breath. I found myself years later reciting it to myself when my mind wandered and finally it sunk in too and I got it.

    Never got to say thank you.

    • “They come to kill your ____________, you kill ‘em right back.”

      (paraphrase, Malcolm Reynolds)

      Special place in the ninth hell for these hypocrite bastards.

      And yes, Michigan Militia???…………. your balloon just went sky high.