Public Key Crypto Training – 2 March

Cryptologists_Bletchley_Park
Subject:
Public Key crypto – theory, install, key generation and exchange, message exchange, best practices and common mistakes.

Brought to you by FreeFor:

http://tns7i5gucaaussz4.onion/

Location:
http://www.chatzy.com/ [http://www.chatzy.com/69930030343704]
or
https://crypto.cat/ [Conversation name: FREEFOR]

Time:
Saturday March 2, 2013
17:00PST
18:00MST
19:00CST
20:00EST
Proposed 60min class – depending on # and install headaches

Things we need to know beforehand:
* What operating system are you bringing?
Windows, Mac, Linux, etc
See the end of the paste on how to let us know.

Things that would be awesome that everyone have:
* a DVD with TAILS on it

https://tails.boum.org

a privacy toolset so we have a common platform
* cryptocat (https://crypto.cat/) installed in your browser in case we hit max occupancy at http://www.chatzy.com
* [Beginners] Second computer hooked up to the internet (at the same time!)
so that if main box has issues, class time isn’t wasted getting through error screens
* [Advanced] GPG software already installed.
https://www.gpgtools.org/ for Windows
http://www.gpg4win.org/ for Mac

The more people with the software already installed we can get, the more ground we’ll be able to cover.

We’re trying to get a headcount, so no need to use your real credentials – but please RSVP:

http://www.free-rsvp.com

Event ID: 2012
Password: FREEFOR

7 responses to “Public Key Crypto Training – 2 March

  1. Steven MacArthur

    Gentlemen, When I receive your e mail, I don’t know what to click on to read the article or information you are sending me in many cases. When I click on the colored title, I just get the same screen except when it is the day by day cartoon which comes up just fine. What am I missing? Steve MacArthur

  2. Thanks, CA.
    We’re planning on discussing Bitcoin, OTR, and Tor as well if time permits – other arrows it’s worth having in your quiver.
    Hope to see you all there!

  3. The only “2nd computer” I have access to is an Android device. Would that suffice?. I want to start learning this stuff.

  4. The only “2nd computer” I have access to is an Android device. Would that suffice?. I want to start learning this stuff.

  5. Had a few requests for another class for those that can’t attend due to scheduling.
    There will be another TBA on the subject of Tor – we have techs hanging out on our chat channel (http://tns7i5gucaaussz4.onion) that can assist on this sort of stuff once you know how to get there.
    Hint: http://tinyurl.com/3ty5dkk