Quote Of The Year Nominee


…I like enjoying the dwindling benefits of the civilization that 300 years of technological development since the dawn of the Enlightenment has made possible: Three centuries of humans have busted ass to ensure that I can eat a fresh avocado whenever I want, browse a book store at 11PM, and have practically anything you can imagine delivered to my doorstep at practically any hour of the day.

Yes, the Endarkenment is upon us, and I am well aware that, being childless and over 40, I will not live to see any new dawns, and so I am sick and goddam tired of running.

I sincerely hope the best for you (or, more accurately, your descendants, for the dawn will not come again in your lifetime.)

As for me, in the words of Theodora, “purple makes a fine shroud.”

Tam, commenting in this string

10 responses to “Quote Of The Year Nominee

  1. Semper Fi, 0321

    I turn 57 in a week, and I too am weary. Being childless, I don’t have to worry or care about what happens. Growing up and living thru the cold war, I never felt the need to procreate and offer up more lives to be snuffed out by some gov’t gas or bombs.
    Well, here it is, time for change. And all that great gungho USMC shit from my youth isn’t getting me outta this one. So when you look at what’s left to take over, maybe we need to hit the wall @ 9 oh!
    What really hurts is that most who survive will be too stupid to know HOW to rebuild, their cell phone can’t do it for them!
    I think we peaked about 50 years ago, and weren’t observant enough to see the light fading on another chapter of our history.

  2. For some reason, when I originally read Tam’s comment, I didn’t connect her to view from the porch.

  3. As Tom Baugh says, “Purple Rhinocerus”.
    Allow me to refer you to CA’s own writings,( repeated from an older post) just above this on WRSA:
    ‘Remember, too, that defending space (i.e., fixed positions) is how hajii has been dying in droves in Iraq and Afghanistan; many of the people coming to hurt you will have had experience in the “fix ‘em and then kill ‘em” tactics used by the .mil in those struggles. Ergo, best to have a “going mobile” component to your plan — or, as a wise man once told me, “Don’t plan on being where they know you live if you want to keep living.” ‘

    I think THAT qualifies for “Quote of the Year”. And I have followed his advice.

    You don’t need to live in the city to enjoy civilization. Why, here in the country we even stopped using the old one- and two-holers a couple of years back. We actually have libraries, one or two bookstores, and the amazing ability to acquire much of what we want via the Internet, if it isn’t locally available. That being said, the benefits of civilization are many, but they occur within the mind, not at that trendy deli down the street from you, nor in the packages that even we bumpkins are able to acquire via Amazon and Fed-Ex. (With the possible exception of toilet paper, I’d miss that for sure and for certain 😉

    Buying an avocado is great. Knowing how to grow one trumps that a bit though. Having the knowledge of how to keep and raise goats, milk them, make cheese from that milk, butcher the male kids for chevon, grow the food you eat, skid your firewood with a team of horses, and all the things it is possible to do – without being dependent on the small chance that civilization may still be there to provide you the goodies you crave – is even more important in these times. Having that knowledge and skills more significant than strolling down to your local bookstore may be the only thing that will keep civilization alive while we work back to being able to make both the cell phones (my goodness, how did we ever live before we had them?) and generate the power to allow them to function.

    Robert Anson Heinlein advised us that specialization is for insects. Having crewed on S-2Es in the Navy (sub-hunting), worked construction, been an EMT, a police officer, a commercial helicopter pilot, and a registered nurse; having raised Shire draft horses, Toggenburg goats, free-range chickens, gardened for food, timbered for wood to build, heat and cook with, cruised on a 37’ catamaran I owned, and engaged in quite a few other activities, I can say with a little bit of justification that civilization is what you make of it. I enjoy its benefits, too, but they don’t define me. They never will.

    Enjoy your avocados, bookstores and cellphones while you can. The barbarians are already here and they surround us, at least in the cities and larger towns. Pine for your current way of life if you must, although those of us who have known the reward of living closer to the land and providing for ourselves will still find purpose in the struggle to survive without an iPhone, iPad, texting, the crap that passes for TV programming now, and so many other trappings of the civilization you mourn.

    I don’t know why you keep harping on the subject of running. Is it better to duck or take the blow right on the chin? Sure, it may be more “gutsy” to try to slug it out like the Continental Army did with the Redcoats, standing in a line and shooting across a narrow divide at each other, until the side with the most still standing “wins”. We already know that won’t win any wars. Moving off the X is much more effective, and will accomplish our goals more efficiently. If you have been running and now you are tired of it, fine. I’m not tired of running, because I haven’t been “running” in the first place. Better to shoot and move than to stand still, though, unless you goal is a quick and glorious death. I agree with CA on that score, for certain.

  4. Highlander

    In this gathering storm I hope that the clan can gather in time. We are full of knowledge and strength and are built to survive and prosper.

    NE OBLIVISCARIS (FORGET NOT)
    Cruachan

  5. Grenadier1

    Winter is coming

  6. Make No Mistake about it I AM IN INDIAN TERRITORY. Of all of Texas only Three Districts Carried Oboma in the last Presidental Election, an I am in one of those Districticts.
    Keeping what You Have and being productive, growing what you will eat and making what you need in the future will be difficult enough WHERE EVER YOU ARE when TSHTF but, Trying to do these things in the Urban Areas will be nearly impossible if not outright suicide. For those of you that will be thinning out the collective heard, I give you my Thanks and Blessings, and if I had the resorces to do so I would be sending you a case of Ammo to help with your body count. But Body Count or Glory will Not Be My Objective, My Objective is the survival of My Family, Please Read that as Tribe, and I am sure that my Chances are Better out Here in a Rual Area.

    Dennis
    III
    Texas

  7. What Tam said was profound: a bit sad, but profound.

  8. I’m with Reg T. I have a similar eclectic and pragmatic background and I agree that civilization, and life, is what you make of it.

    You can’t do that if you’re dead.

    So, Tam, lose the sarcasm and defensive attitude. You are too bright, able and aggressive to surrender to your present circumstances’ declining chances of survival. A new civilization is waiting to be built… by the survivors.

    Jon III

    • “A new civilization is waiting to be built… by the survivors.”

      As a know nothing punk ass kid, I’d like to say “seconded”.

  9. SiGraybeard, from Comments to the Denniger post above, sez:

    Bernanke has said he has the power to deposit money directly in your bank accounts – that is, the Fed can transfer money not only to banks but to every bank account in the US.

    I don’t think this changes the big picture, but it might make a run on the banks to get cash out less likely. That money would be worthless. It would be the equivalent of painting extra zeros on every dollar in your wallet – legally. If everyone that had a dollar now had a million dollars, the buying power would be the same.

    That’s my entry in the “Quote of the Year”contest. Today, anyway.

    Jon III