Medical Thoughts

231
All from the Raconteur Report:

First Aid

SHTF Medical w/ List/Links

Casualty/Trauma Care & Supplies In Austere Conditions

Action this day.

(H/t WRSA reader)

19 responses to “Medical Thoughts

  1. Sorry to have to say this, but the medical training and supply list is mostly B.S. The proposed training and supplies are geared to help you deliver someone into a 1st world medical center. Bandages would be nice but you don’t need burn cream, tripple antibiotic ointment, and a whole lot of other crap mentioned there. The only thing needed for a wound to heal in a healthy person is that the wound is cleaned well. You can do that with soap and water. If the wound cannot be cleaned well and your water source isn’t sterile, don’t close the edges. Sure you’ll get a bigger scar but you won’t die and if the shit hits the fan, the last thing you’ll worry about is the scar. As far as taking an advanced life support class, you might learn about doing CPR on some old geezer who just had a heart attack while you wait for an ambulance, but how useful will that be if the shit hits the fan? If someone has a bullet wound and you have no access to blood and a surgeon, forget the CPR. If anything just learn how to do the Heimlich, and that will probably be the most useful skill you’ll have in a true societal meltdown.

  2. Daunting task…good lists.

    I took an EMS course last year…I don’t think I learned enough.

    Thanks for this one.

  3. I thought his topic is what would be needed to deliver good to superior medical care in primitive conditions…and mostly…without a professional, proper equipment, supplies, knowledge, ability to get it clean, keep it clean, and learn to properly dispose of contaminated materials, one can’t deliver 1st world medical care.

    I like the lists. Better to have a clue than not, don’t you think?

  4. SemperFi, 0321

    Have carried a trauma kit for yrs , teach everyone I can what they are and why you need one, we hunt a lot and have grizzlies to contend with on hiking trips. Folks just can’t get it thru their heads a couple bandaids and aspirin won’t fix things like that. Stocked up on lots of bigger supplies too.
    I carry my own body bag everywhere I go, my G.I. poncho.

  5. Would you be willing to publish your list of supplies?

    The one thing I did not even consider was “body bags.”

    Guess it is fairly obvious I need to know more, and be able to do more, and certainly able to handle more.

  6. Perhaps I am being too judgmental, but when I see stuff like burn cream and antibiotic ointment I know that that I am seeing items that pharmacies sell but have little proven value. I have also taken multiple ACLS courses over my life as these are needed for my job. The object of these courses is to train people on how to provide temporary medical care until someone is taken to a very expensive high tech medical center.

    However, when I talk to people from the 3rd world I realize that almost everything I use in my work will be hard to transfer to a life without high tech tests and expensive drugs. If government collapses or our technology dependent world dies out, much of what I know and do would become useless. So what to do then???

    Basics of wound care are: clean the wound quick with tons of sterile water and if you think it’s a good cleaning, close it. If it’s not good then leave it open to heal. Antibiotics will last about 5 years as will most drugs but they will degrade to some extent into impotent forms. Some even develop toxic metabolites. I wouldn’t trust a 10 year old pill of anything and if I absolutely didn’t need it, would avoid it like poison. As long as pus doesn’t build up under pressure, the body will heal; that’s why you keep the wound open. If you have an abscess, open it up and in a healthy individual, you’ve done most of the work.

    In case of societal collapse, most of your useful medical care will be geared towards avoiding becoming sick. Exercise, stay clean, drink clean water,…. In pre-industrial America the most common medical reason for being admitted to the hospital was infection, and the most common infection was Malaria. If we don’t take care of our swamps, it will come back. In ancient world, parasites were a constant problem; worms especially. So hygiene is probably the most effective way to combat sickness in such a world.

  7. BTW, keeping the wound open doesn’t mean you don’t cover it with a bandage. That means you don’t close the edges of the wound with suture. Clean bandages are an important way to keep dirt from getting into a cleaned wound.

  8. You sound like you have good experience and training to offer.

    How about a guest post on the subject, if CA is okay with it?

  9. Make it so.

    Vinny, send it to wrsa@hushmail.com. Pls focus on someone who is injured but survivable. Tx.

  10. Always interesting to add to my learning in trauma, combat medicine and austere medicine especially from those who have the bona fides.

  11. The “magic white powder” has been used by USSFs to help indigenous people in other countries in treating wounds for many years.

  12. Two things. If Vinnie is correct about Malaria, then I better stock up on quinine water and gin. Colloidal silver is a good thing to learn how to make (I made my own machine to do it). As Quiet man linked, sugar has amazing healing properties. Dysentery is the one I worry about.

  13. SemperFi, 0321

    “sugar has amazing healing properties”
    Honey is better. Look it up, amazing stuff. Never goes bad either.

  14. That’s correct. Unpasteurized is best. Support local growers or, better yet, set up some hives and help the whole community.

  15. SemperFi, 0321

    Sugar is processed and refined, from what and where? Then added to more processed grease….?
    Honey is pure right from the beehive. Can’t think of a more healthful product to use. Heat it up when it gets hard. And a friend is a beekeeper here, lots of pure mountain honey, and beeswax for bullet lube, etc. We buy 5 gal. buckets.
    My bulletlube is 60% beeswax-40% vaseline, I’ll use it for chapstick, zipper lube, and maybe even some wound salve…..?

  16. I was discussing guerilla beekeeping with my wife: Just set up hives near fields and let nature take it’s course. Mark the locations down….

  17. Plus you get to wear the multicam beekeeper’s garb.

    😉

  18. “C’mere, LT: I have a mission for you….”