DTG: Review Of America Stone

americastone

Here.

Ordering info.

7 responses to “DTG: Review Of America Stone

  1. ApoloDoc

    Ceramic with multiple shaped edges…seems pricey for what it is. They don’t provide much information about the stone itself (ie what would be the equivalent grit or abrasive particle size). That said, it certainly will be far more gentle on knives than the pocket sized carbide sharpeners (eg Smith). Those thing can put a working edge on steel QUICKLY, but you see chunks of your knife being torn off! They also produce a rough edge that doesn’t last nearly as long as a finely polished edge.

    The Edge Pro is an incredible tool, especially if you get rid of the stock stones and replace with Shaptons. I commented on DTG’s site about this in the past (awesome kits at ChefKnivestoGo.com). A pocket stone is clearly needed for a ‘Bushcraft’ operation. But I am curious: how many people with a well sharpened knife out and about avoiding mischief for a couple of days on patrol actually need to resharpen the knife while out?

    Anyway, I am going to try to get more info from the company and may give on of these a try myself. My concern is that there is ALWAYS a neat, new widgit to add to the carry gear. “It only weighs a couple of ounces!” As I learned decades ago backpacking, “take care of the ounces and the pounds take care of themselves!”

    • “pocket sized carbide sharpeners (eg Smith). Those thing can put a working edge on steel QUICKLY, but you see chunks of your knife being torn off!”

      Pocket sized carbide sharpeners are for touching up blades in the field,if you are seeing chunks of your knife being torn off-it was way beyond what the carbide pocket sharpeners are designed for.
      I’ve been using the pocket sharpeners for years,and have never seen chunks of any of my knives come off.
      Very light pressure,no more than 6 strokes on the carbide side,then follow up with 6-8 strokes on the ceramic side.
      I use them when butchering big game critters,and I’ve been using the same knives for over 20 years. The only blade that shows any noticeable wear is an Old Hickory boning knife-but that knife is the same knife my grandfather used for butchering deer every deer season,and a hog once a year. The rest of the time it was in my grandmother’s kitchen,being used frequently.

      Sure the Edge Pro is a great system-if you want to dump $400.00 or more into something that simply holds your blade at the correct angle.
      There are many other less costly methods of accomplishing the same thing.
      I agree with you on the Shapton stones-definitely one of the best stones I’ve ever used.

      • ApoloDoc

        I don’t literally mean “chunks” but there are visible shavings that come off when using carbide sharpeners. That is very different from the gentle action of a stone, that’s all I’m saying.

        Freehand sharpening is something that many people THINK they are good at, but not so many are really all that good. I suck at it! Take pride in your skill, but people like me do better with something to hold a very consistent angle. The EdgePro saves a lot of time in my hands, so thinking about how much use I get (and sharpening for myself and others over many years means a LOT of use) the cost vs time saved is a worthy exchange in my book.

        • Okay,shavings and chunks are two very different things,but I’ve never even had anything other than very fine dust come off of my blades when using the carbide sharpeners.
          I did agree that the EdgePro is a great sharpener-simply stating the fact that there are other,much less costly ways of holding the angle.
          Over 20 years as executive chef-I’ve sharpened a lot of knives-and seen a lot of people who could not sharpen a knife properly on a set of stones no matter how many times they were shown.
          It’s all about holding the angle the same over the length of the blade.
          I’ve seen guys ruin the edge on an almost razor sharp knife using a butcher’s steel-while I use the steel after I sharpen my knives on a series of stones.
          It took me a few years to get it right,but lots of practice,and being taught by guys who had been sharpening top of the line chef’s knives for their whole lives helped-a lot.

  2. Bought a Norton Crystolon Fine Bench stone, 27 years ago, and it sharpens damned good. And a $5.00 wheel sharpener at a gun show from a little old lady who makes them, and it does good service as well. The Norton cost a stupefying $13.15. I still have my dad’s old stone, it’s still great as well. In the field, I have a small version of the Norton. About an ounce.

  3. I like it,since it’s ceramic,it will outlast any of the similar sized stones provided with “survival knives”,and if you like serrated blades-(I can’t stand them myself)-it will re-sharpen those as well.

  4. Alfred E. Neuman

    Reblogged this on ETC., ETC., & ETC..