WM: “You carry a gun so you’re hard to kill. Know the law so you’re hard to convict.”

law_of_self_defense_branca_standard_edition

WeaponsMan reviews an essential book.

Order here.

14 responses to “WM: “You carry a gun so you’re hard to kill. Know the law so you’re hard to convict.”

  1. DWEEZIL THE WEASEL

    Always remember: “Officer, this person tried to kill me. I will be glad to cooperate with you as soon as I speak to my attorney.” Then, STFU. Do not EVER. and I mean EVER get drawn into any subsequent conversations. Hand him/her your ID and let them copy the info. They will then ask for your phone number. That’s it. Do not ask them any questions. Go mute. Legally, the only time you are required to give information to the police is if you are in a traffic accident where someone has been injured.
    The paradigm for the use of deadly force is almost universal throughout all 50 states: there exists an IMMINENT threat of great bodily injury or death to you, a family member, or even an innocent stranger. Drill that into your head and get some CCW training if you have not already done so.
    Ayoob(who wrote the Forward to this book) may be a poseur, wanna-be,and a self-promoting opportunist, but he has documented numerous cases over the years when gun-carrying citizens have really stepped in it. Be safe, be vigilant, and be ready. Condition White is just not acceptable any more.

    • Right. And try to get someone else to call 911, you don’t want to be recorded in the heat of the moment.

    • “Ayoob(who wrote the Forward to this book) may be a poseur, wanna-be,and a self-promoting opportunist, but he has documented numerous cases over the years when gun-carrying citizens have really stepped in it.”

      Beat me to it. He has his uses but after the Guernena shooting in Arizona and his open carry stance, I can’t take him seriously.

    • Jimmy the Saint

      “Always remember: “Officer, this person tried to kill me. I will be glad to cooperate with you as soon as I speak to my attorney.” Then, STFU”

      Remember, in some jurisdictions, you now have to specifically invoke your 5th Amendment right to remain silent. Just being quiet doesn’t end the interrogation.

  2. outlawpatriot

    If you live in Florida, also check out “Florida Firearms Law, Use & Ownership” by Jon H. Gutmacher, P.A. He also has a website, floridafirearmslaw.com.🙂

  3. Alfred E. Neuman

    Reblogged this on ETC., ETC., & ETC..

  4. CA thanks for the heads-up got one on the way.

  5. now I get it. most of the content here gets me somewhat hot, (if not you then you must not have a pulse) and causes a amped up situational awarrness, a good thing. OK so now that i am pissed and armed you hook me up with the required pub to assist me to stay out of jail when I am forced to defend my family. Thanks. a full service blog!

  6. Anonymous

    Assume the victim is older and white-ish and the dead attacker is younger and brown-ish. Seems like the choices are: 1) submit to the government, expect a $350,000 plus legal bill and have a 2/3 chance of avoiding prison; 2) submit to the government, save your money and don’t hire a good legal team, and go to prison; or 3) don’t submit to the government. This book only helps with scenario #1, which I assume will continue to evolve in the direction of ‘get on the boxcar to the camps’.

    The people who have invested in a place at the trough of the prison-industrial system will never, ever tell you that you’re better off running for the hills. Doesn’t matter how high the conviction rate for innocent whites is. Doesn’t matter how limited the judge tells them the grounds of your defense is allowed to be. Only those who have retired in disgust from those positions will tell you the truth.

    Do you really want to buy a book like this? Will you use the information honestly or does it just feed your rule-of-law delusion?

  7. Grey Ghost

    What Dweezel said x2. Never ever talk to the cops without your lawyer present. And it’s ALWAYS self-defense and you were in fear of your life.

    /r
    Grey Ghost

  8. Who will actually declare war? A declaration of war, issued by the dirt people.
    The declaration would cite actual incidents.The truth is stranger than any fiction you could make up. Sordid behavior. Sloth and debauchery which rivals France at it’s pinnacle.” Let them eat cake was a reference to the”cake” found under a horse and carriage. The elite think the same way about you ,mere mortals. Get it through your brains that the sociopaths and psychopaths in DC hate your guts and want you out of the way. Dead.

  9. My three rules for my CCW.
    No booze or drugs. I’m a sober person. That, to me, is the 1st rule of gun safety. Bad people who come at you ain’t gonna wait for you to sober up. They seek out people leaving the bar or a liquor store.
    My gun is only for self defense. I won’t ever use it in a citizens arrest. ” Stop or I’ll shoot” is manslaughter if the guy is running away.
    Third. I am under no legal obligation to pull my gun and shoot any bad guy ( Same as the police. Courts have ruled that a cop has no obligation to protect any specific citizen or respond to any single 911 call. This is a main reason I carry). Besides minding my own business, why get involved when two gang members are stabbing each other. Say I’m at the mall and I hear gun fire down around the corner. Most likely I’ll walk out the other way quickly. It would be insane to charge towards the sound of gunfire gun in hand. I could be considered another bad guy by a security guard and get shot. If someone starts shooting right in front of me and I’m a potential target, I STILL MIGHT RUN AWAY, throwing a couple shots into the ceiling as I run. Or I might return fire.
    Mind your own business. If its someone else in danger, not me or my family, good chance I’ll run away and pull my cell phone instead of my gun. I believe we are obligated to do that.
    Rainman…….

  10. Use a revolver.

    No case left behind.

    Don’t be there when the bag and tag boys arrive.

    No compliance with “procedure,” if at all possible.

    “We don’ neeed no steenkin’ baadges….”

  11. left a comment in the thread @ WM. To which lawyerman replied