Thoughts On Learning Code

Learn-morse-code-alphabet

SiGB shares his experiences.

Farnsworth method download for Windows.

Related.

11 responses to “Thoughts On Learning Code

  1. thanks, as always great info

    I used a program called CodeQuick … AWESOME … not learning dots and dashes >>> learning words
    just checked … still out there, and in a format more current than cassette tapes ! .. yea, casettes

    great group asset … http://www.cq2k.com/index.html

  2. It’s on my 2017 Ham radio goals list, I started to try last year and realized I didn’t have the time to commit to it so I got lazy and started using PSK31 to be as efficient as CW when transmitting. I am thinking about trying the Koch method where you learn at the speed you want to be proficient so rather than learning all the letters at a slow speed and then increasing the pace you learn each letter at full speed (30 wpm or whatever) and add letters as you go.

  3. Code should not be learned visually. You should remove the graphic. Learn it by sound.The G4FON Koch trainer is a good way to do it.

  4. Historian

    Farnsworth is the way to go. Visual aids make things much harder.

  5. For those kinesthetic learners I’ve used http://www.cwops.org/cwacademy.html and I can assure worth signing up to, the tutor gets you in on skype, gets you running through exercises with him and gives you feedback on it. 100% free and virtually guaranteed to have you learn something in 1 way or another.

  6. Grey Ghost

    Get rid of the graphic before you really fuck up your mind.

    Personally I like the Koch method and there are some Kock method CW training programs out there for free too. I would also recommend CW Academy if you can get in. It’s on the web.

    If you are in a hurry learn the numbers first… easy too. Then no worries when it comes to OTP transmission copy. I also think 15wpm is the speed to try and learn at BUT if that is too fast dial it down to a point where you can copy at comfortable speed then increase the speed to about 20wpm which is in my opinion respectable.

    There is ham gear that will “decode” CW for you if you are lazy or don’t have the time to learn. It’s been my experience these decoder boxes work ok on strong and moderate signals but have a very difficult time with weak signals and fading conditions.

    As for sending I find the single paddle keyers easier but don’t leave out your basic computer keyboard for sending.

    As usuals SiGB is right… learn by sound not by memorizing some graphic.

    /r
    Grey Ghost

  7. The ARRL also has regular on-air practice sessions you can tune in to.
    It’s a very good way to get your code practice, as you learn to deal with signal fading (QSB) and interference.
    They also have practice sessions you can download as mp3 files to load on your media device, or a memory stick to distribute.
    On-air practice schedule: http://www.arrl.org/w1aw-operating-schedule

    downloadable files: http://www.arrl.org/code-practice-files

  8. The only Morse code I ever learned was S (dot dot dot)-O (dash dash dash)-S (dot dot dot). I also developed a lifelong taste for SOS at breakfast in the mess hall at MCRD Parris Island.

  9. Try Koch and Farnsworth methods both at LCWO.NET. As a new ham it got me on the air with CW in just a couple of months. Two years of being idle with code, it’s getting me proficient again.