Some Thoughts On Humility

Pride-v-Humility-E.T.-Benson

Why You Can’t (Fully) Trust Yourself (Without More Rigorous Scrutiny Than Most People Will Exercise)

Good piece (especially after some title-tweaking).

12 responses to “Some Thoughts On Humility

  1. pride is a crutch of the insecure. weakness. this is why i always shook my head when i saw those “power of pride” bumper stickers after 9/11.

    like – wave a bunch of flags and sing lee greenwood songs while being stripped of your 4th, 1st and 5th.

    • Jim Klein

      Waving flags and singing Greenwood are the opposite of pride. They’re what a person does when he DOESN’T have pride in himself.

      IOW those are stand-ins. Ask any commie-lib. The statist/collectivist mentality isn’t tough to understand.

  2. The author of that quote (Ezra T. Benson), former secretary of Agriculture, is well-known for many great writings on the proper role of government and the responsibility of each citizen to defend the constitution. His words, on many topics, should be read, then re-read.

  3. pride doesn’t advertise; and humility is a waste of time. Work out the power equations then act accordingly. In this respect, comrade Stalin should be an inspiration to us all:

    “there is nothing sweeter than to slake a terrible vengeance, then go to bed and get a good night’s sleep”

    – J. Stalin

  4. Comrade X

    “Men seek retreats for themselves, houses in the country, sea-shores, and mountains; and thou too art wont to desire such things very much. But this is altogether a mark of the most common sort of men, for it is in thy power whenever thou shalt choose to retire into thyself. For nowhere either with more quiet or more freedom from trouble does a man retire than into his own soul.” Marcus Aurelius

  5. The essential quote from that article:

    “The irony of all of this, though, is that these fancy experiments published in fancy books and journals by fancy people with fancy letters behind their names — yeah, they’re basically saying what monks have been saying in Eastern philosophical traditions for a few millennia now, and all they had to do was sit in caves and think about nothing for a few years.”

    Obviates and puts into stark relief the scientism of all the rest.

  6. We are such flawed and incompetent creatures, that one wonders how we make any progress at all. Yet we do. Mostly by way of being armed at all times.

  7. Dear Mark Manson: You’re full of shit. To riddled with self doubt at every turn and decision is the best way I know of to accomplish nothing. Don’t get me wrong, I know I am both fallible, and dead wrong about many things, but one thing I did learn in life, that to be riddled with self doubt is to be paralyzed. So, what I do is ask questions, look at things, ask more questions, look at things again, and then when something is very, very, important, I find some one who absolutely disagrees with what I’m contemplating, and ask them too. Bottom line, you have to completely trust yourself, to get anything done at all. I would remind you that everyone outside of yourself has a different opinion, and that they are just as bad as your worst self, all the time. You’re not going to do any worse that most of humanity, and if you do any kind of planning at all, you’ll still do better that most anyway. There are millions of people in the world right now that will never amount to a pinch of shit, because they are afraid to even take that first step towards what they want out of life. Being second guessed is a full time profession for a lot of people, and the profession of a lot of people who should know better, and get out of other peoples lives. I don’t know what I know, and I don’t know what I don’t know? How the fuck are you supposed to even get up in the morning and shit? Davy Crockett said, “First be right, then go ahead”. If I’m wrong about something, it’ll become evident. If I’m right about something no one will notice. Yeah, I know biases and all my prejudices and the duality of man. Guess what egghead? Everyone else does the same thing. At least if I do go ahead, I might get what I want, or see my two cents get in. I’m not on this earth to make everyone happy with my decisions, and frankly, I don’t give a damn if they are happy. I’m here, I’m going to do things, and there you are. There is a devil, there is no doubt, but is he within, or is he without?

  8. Jimmy the Saint

    Ol’ Niccolo said it pretty well, too:

    “Yet the way men live is so far removed from the way they ought to live that anyone who abandons what is for what should be pursues his downfall rather than his preservation; for a man who strives after goodness in all his acts is sure to come to ruin, since there are so many men who are not good.”

  9. Jim Klein

    Overall, that was some of the worst philosophy I’ve read in many years…a total mishmosh of bits of truth and steady non sequitors, thoroughly mixed so that the reader can’t tell one from the other.

    I suppose that makes sense, since the focal thesis is that nobody knows shit. Wow, what a coincidence…that’s just what the big-time philosophers have been trying to say for centuries. Wonder why.

    Americans never bought into that bullshit mostly…they were too busy working, getting rich and being proud. In a word, living.

    Till the progressives got a hold of the schools, eh?

    Possibly useful for some facts contained within, but as a philosophical piece, let alone as advice, consider at great risk to your health…dissonance kills.

  10. Wow, first Haxo, not sure what to do with that comment about humility being a waste of time. Isn’t the nexus/crux of the “quiet professional” based on humility. Certainly isn’t pride, in their case, justified, considering proper martial context, yet they endeavor not to exhibit same a la a wanker?

    Some of the folks here at WRSA are Christians, some are not, based on past commentary. I simply posit that any thinking man; 1) knows he is incomprehensibly small considering the vast and complex universe in which we hurtle through and 2) have a innate understanding that said universe has a designer/Creator (gasp, I said it) and as such are part of said Creation? CA has mentioned 2700 of us visit WRSA each day. Many of them very talented individuals with expertise ranging from the martial arts (armed and unarmed), communications, intelligence, engineering and fabrication, horticulture, yadda and yadda still. The drum beat is tribe as no one man can know it all. That, in itself, should scream the need for humility.

    As far as the article referenced is concerned, anecdotally, I take exception to points 2, 3, 6, 7 and 8. My exceptions are all rooted in my personal humility. Unlike most of those around me; family, professional, social; I am painfully aware of who I am and that knowledge has been mercilessly hammered into my psyche by the mistakes I have made, the attempt to pass them off on external circumstances and then ultimate realization I am the cause and part of the cure. I have come to understand a duality – 1) I am an abjectly pitiful, speck of a life form outside of Christ and 2) I am an unstoppable force of nature in Him. I have access to the wonder of quantum physics, string theory and spoken/thought vibrational energy as long as my intention is in service of Him and His Creation. Beyond that, I am a wanker looking for a handout or much worse yet – an excuse.

    Donk