Three From MDT

portable-reloading-kit11

The Field Portable Reloading Kit

Simple, Necessary Prepping Tasks For The Survivalist

Training Should Never End

19 responses to “Three From MDT

  1. Tried this about 30 years ago and found that you could carry about TWICE the loaded ammo for the same mass as the components to reload 300 rounds. It sounds like a good idea, but doesn’t work. The crap you have to haul to reload YOUR basic load comes out heavier than just carrying pre loaded ammo.

    • This is for long term sustainment, not a quick fix to a weight issue. This kit isn’t just something you can carry, it’s a convenient kit to cache if that’s something you do.

      • SemperFi, 0321

        I understand the idea of your articles, but if you’re not reloading or shooting black powder today, you’re not going to be doing it next month under stressed conditions. If you’re already doing it, you already know these things.
        I’ve tried learning some new things, but basically, I build guns and Sparks works the radios, simple as that. Stick to what you’re good at, and don’t spread yourself so thin that you can’t afford anything anymore. I have friends who’ve got a garage full of blacksmithing equipt, canoe kits, archery equipt, muzzleloading gun kits, and they never mastered any of it. It just sits there, unfinished!

    • outlawpatriot

      Well, of course. But there is the necessity of maintaining relevance.😉

  2. Pingback: Three From MDT | Rifleman III Journal

  3. Alfred E. Neuman

    Reblogged this on ETC., ETC., & ETC..

  4. Always like the links to MDT, this stuff is always useful, even when that is not immediately apparent. Caching the stuff needed to reload casings sounds like a winner, and it is. Caching just about anything useful is great too. Even if you get to it, and it’s not exactly what you need at the time, you could trade it, or somehow bargain with it to get your needed things. The flexibility, resourcefulness, and tactical sense of things found here, and at MDTs’ website are invaluable.

  5. SemperFi, 0321

    Sorry, but this is stupid. You’re not some longhunter or buffalo hunter out on the prairies, you’re in a combat mode. Fully agree with Ray, too much weight. And you forgot to show the powder, bullets and primers, which you will find where? Reload in base camp, and then leave the heavy shit there.
    I’ve been a buckskinner for over 40 yrs, and even I don’t cast bullets out on a horse trip, that shit stays home. Had a pack horse blow up once and left gear scattered all over hell and gone, luckily I found my bullet mold in the sagebrush, other stuff we never recovered and I learned a valuable lesson. None of us live on the trail, we have homes we operate out of, and I don’t see any of us walking across the continent looking for a firefight, unless you think you’re Denzel Washington.

    • SemperFi 0321 said, “Sorry, but this is stupid. You’re not some longhunter or buffalo hunter out on the prairies, you’re in a combat mode.”
      Really, I thought I was a Survivalist, of which the mountain men, long hunters, etc. were some of the first. I made this statement specifically for comments like yours,
      “Whether you want to carry your kit with you, or place it in a cache, this kit will do what you need, when you need it to, and it’s as compact as a complete reloading kit can be.”
      Then you said, “I’ve been a buckskinner for over 40 yrs, and even I don’t cast bullets out on a horse trip, that shit stays home.”
      Good for you. This is about options. Your opinion is just that, your opinion.

  6. SemperFi, 0321

    I’m not trying to be mean or pick on your military teaching skills, but I’m also calling bullshit on this.
    What I find interesting is all your shit is brand new, your oiled unused bullet mold isn’t even installed on the handles. Frankly, this looks to me like you’ve never done this before. Any pics of the finished product? Pictures of you actually molding and sizing bullets in the field? If you’re going to be teaching people life saving skills, you should know your subject matter inside and out, and not something you picked up last week.
    I can produce pics from 30+ yrs ago of myself doing primitive horse trips across the Rockies, I was also employed by Green River Rifleworks in the late 70’s, building custom muzzleloaders, I was the owner of Oregon Trail Riflesmiths in the late 80’s, so I’m speaking and asking as someone highly experienced in this field.
    What would you think of me if I wrote an article on the newest M-4orgery and never fired a shot through it, but had raving reviews?

    • Good points. It’ll be interesting to see if these guys can get another 20 years under their belts without stepping on their dicks in a major way.😉

    • Shinmen Takezo

      Completely correct.
      Bullshit and highly impracticable.
      And to think you can fire “cast bullets” out of brass meant for high-velocity projectiles is insane.

      FYI–to do this you need a highly accurate weight scale, wax-lubing equipment and a “load chart” specific for the powder you are using. If reloading for 7.62 X 39 for example and wanting to use cast/wax-lubed projectiles…. you will not be shooting these projectile at 2300 feet per second (average for 125 grain FMJ), you will be shooting them at a much slower speed. If you were to reload these cast/lubed projectiles for 2300 feet per second, you will most likely blow up your rifle with a stoppage–ditto with other calibers.

      If you want to shoot cast/lubed projectiles–best to stick with black powder rifle calibers or hand-gun calibers (like .357 or .40 cal and so forth.

      • “Completely correct.”
        Not really
        “Bullshit and highly impracticable.”
        Says who? you?
        “And to think you can fire “cast bullets” out of brass meant for high-velocity projectiles is insane.”

        He’s using a 155-160 grain bullet at around 1500 FPS and it cycles the rifle fine, imagine that. BTW, the video was put in the post for the idiot “Doubting Thomas’s”, but I guess your attention span didn’t reach that far into the post, huh?
        “FYI–to do this you need a highly accurate weight scale, wax-lubing equipment and a “load chart” specific for the powder you are using.”
        No, you can use a Lee powder dipper (ask the guys who have used a Lee Loader) you can use tumble lube, and “Well duh” yeah, a load chart.

    • outlawpatriot

      Uh-oh.🙂

  7. OK, now you’ve gone from stupid assumptions, to baseless assertions emanating from your 4th point of contact. You said, “What I find interesting is all your shit is brand new, your oiled unused bullet mold isn’t even installed on the handles.” (on a side note, it’s more compact storing it that way)
    Did you read this line in the post, “The carrier is an old surplus gas mask carrier. I have another one of these kits that is in an aviators gas mask carrier.”
    Wanna know why most of that equipment was brand new? It was a kit I just put together for my Son, and before his becomes “Less than easily accessible” like my well used kit is, I took picks of it.
    “Frankly, this looks to me like you’ve never done this before.”
    Really, because most of the equipment pictured is brand new? What a ridiculous statement. Here’s one for you, KISS MY ASS! I don’t get paid to write these posts, I do it because people have asked me to. I’m not the be all know all of anything I write, but to make an allegation like that is in poor taste,
    You said, “I can produce pics from 30+ yrs ago of myself doing primitive horse trips across the Rockies, I was also employed by Green River Rifleworks in the late 70’s, building custom muzzleloaders, I was the owner of Oregon Trail Riflesmiths in the late 80’s, so I’m speaking and asking as someone highly experienced in this field.”
    Here’s a question, where’s your posts from your blog (I would happily let you write a guest post on my blog for that matter). I don’t have near the blackpowder experience that you do, but I just wrote a post about flintlock blackpowder guns for survivalists because someone knows I’ve been into it a while, and asked what I’d use it for in that context if needed,
    https://masondixontactical.wordpress.com/2016/06/25/blackpowder-flintlocks-for-the-survivalist/
    I do this for free, and usually expect some morons to ask stupid questions or make ridiculous assumptions or assertions, (especially if it is re-posted on WRSA) but give me a fuckin break. Implying that the new equipment pictured equals no experience shows someone that is trying to start shit, not someone who wants to add to the discussion. Maybe you’re right, maybe I should say “Fuck Yall” and concentrate more on things like family, since obviously, you already know everything. Ooooor maybe not because I know the commenters here are a small portion of those that read it and from email feedback, actually appreciate the effort.

    • SemperFi, 0321

      I don’t have all those fancy patches on my utilities ( I was just a basic USMC anti-tank assaultman, Recon frogman, tanker, and armorer) and therefore I won’t question your skills in dismounting armored vehicles during an ambush in the sandbox (which obviously you are more skilled at than I), but this time I think you stepped on your own dick.
      Your article had no basis in reality, just a cool idea that won’t work. I’ve cast thousands of round ball and handgun bullets over the last 42 yrs, the idea that you can cast, size and reload for an AK , FAL, M4, 1911, M9, etc. under apocalypse conditions is absurd. And my main question is, have you actually done this before in a situation other than your home reloading bench?
      Just like all these new tactical tomahawks that everyone has to be seen carrying these days, why not just carry a real axe that’s efficient at cutting down trees and building shelters (and cleaving heads when the need arises), don’t pump peoples heads full of impractical ideas that don’t work when you most need them to. That was my point, not anything to do with making you look bad, for that I apologize.

      • I have, but it was a basecamp type set up with my other kit, not a let’s take it off my back and load up. We fired the loaded ammo (brass 7.62x39s was harder to find then, it was Lapua brass) and that was that. I don’t do it all the time, or even often (been several years) mainly because to do it I had to get into the cache. Believe it, don’t believe it, but don’t discount it unless you know for sure. Maybe my Son and I will do a video of it with his kit (but I’m still not showing what the load is, too much liability BS). BTW, the only thing I cast for the 5.56 is small game rounds. Direct gas impingment is a bitch with cast bullets at higher velocities, and high velocity is what gives the 5.56 its killing power as anti personnel.