Product Review: Uniden Home Patrol II Police Scanner


From the Culper shop.

Listening is >2x more important than talking.

13 responses to “Product Review: Uniden Home Patrol II Police Scanner

  1. Alfred E. Neuman

    Reblogged this on ETC., ETC., & ETC..

  2. Listening is not just for SHTF; that’s too late. It’s a critical tool in baselining your AO’s “battle rhythm” as it were. What does “normal” look like?

  3. The Police in my area scramble their broadcasts.

    • Dav343,

      Listen to the fire and ambulance dispatches. They are typically in the clear and can give you a sense of pending doom. If, for instance, you here that a bunch of EMS are being staged at a park two blocks away from a mall and told to wait for the all clear before going in. You get the idea.

      Tying into Badger’s comment about listening when things are normal, If you hear new commands being used that would normally not sound like trouble is afoot but are not regularly used, they may be codes. Think Payton Manning and “Omaha”.

      Stay safe.

  4. Owning a Uniden BCD325P2 scanner, I can attest to the value of owning a scanner, but before you buy one, you have to make sure that the agencies around you aren’t encrypting. At this point, the local agencies around me aren’t, but are supposed to do so in 2-3 months. If they are encrypting or are going to do so shortly, I’d put the money into Ham and CD radio gear instead. Also, as a practical matter, Radio reference, the source for the scanner codes can be a couple of weeks out of date. I found this out when our local department switched from a hybrid system to a P25 system.

  5. They’re “encrypting” the transmissions of all emergency calls in my neck of western North Carolina and many are not happy!

  6. All comms have been encrypted in my MN neck of the woods for more than two years. Were probably the nation’s first totally encrypted emergency units is my bet. I’ve tried some work-arounds but zilch success thus far.

  7. I like how everything I should have costs cubic yards of cash.

    • No kidding. Way too expensive. Can anybody recommend something more *reasonably* priced?

    • SemperFi, 0321

      You mean you don’t have several of these already? I’m still waiting to buy my $10,000 NVG’s in bulk.

    • Samuel Culper

      You get what you pay for. I can’t afford a BMW or Maserati, but I don’t expect my vehicle to perform like a BMW or Maserati, either. There are tons of police scanners out there; Uniden makes some really great models but they don’t have the top speed and handling of a HomePatrol II.

      Because the digital scanners are newer technology, they’re going to cost a bit more, unfortunately. In an SHTF scenario when I need to get access to as much information as possible, I’m going to look back and be glad that I paid the extra cash for the HomePatrol II.