Brushbeater: EARCHI 100W-Rated End-Fed HF Antenna


Review and recommendation.

Buy here.

5 responses to “Brushbeater: EARCHI 100W-Rated End-Fed HF Antenna

  1. Virgil Kane

    You can also build your own for less than $20.

  2. I appreciate the author’s continued discussion of end-feds. I’ve used a bunch & they have much utility. My solution has been & still is a 9:1 UNUN, the so-called QRP version (<300W) that fits in my palm as well as to fixed units that handle 2kW (mostly because of their 4-season survivability on the enclosure). No affiliation but the best ready-built I've seen are here.. Support docs regarding possible lengths to use (your space can dictate) available here. Again, no affiliation; just experience – pay once cry once. Decently constructed end-feds are one of those things you can tweak that actually model pretty accurately if you’re into that. (BTDT too). A nice 52′ wire sloping up with a 12-14′ counterpoise suspended off the other terminal tied down near the ground fits nearly any backyard and disappears in the suburban jungle – or the rural haunts of those having to depart from wherever. The end-fed travels too well to ignore.

  3. Well, I guess if I was going to carry that LDG tuner I opt for an for an MFJ-974 (no batts reqd but twice as large and only slightly heavier) and it tunes parallel feed line. Sooooo, I’d just build my own dipole (135′ total length, two legs 67.5′) out of smallish wire (say 18gau) fed with a parallel feed line, either 450 ohm or homebrew 600 ohm. Then hoist it in an “inverted V” configuration and you’ll be able to talk ANY band 80m-6m even at low pwr (15-20w) short range NVIS on the low bands and very good distance on the upper bands when they are open.

    If you insist on using the end fed antenna, personally I’d always use a counter poise even it’s just laying on the ground, though elevated even a little bit is better. The counterpoise keeps “RFI transmission problems” to a minimum and provides better antenna efficiency regardless of whether you are doing SSB, CW or digital. Further if you want to do digital modes QRP portable and don’t want to lug a computer around look into the NUI-PSK modem.

    Grey Ghost

    • The LDG powers from the radio itself. No batteries are required. Neither it nor the MFJ are a recommended go-to for ‘carrying’. If I was going to do that, I’d use one of my resonant antennas which I’ve covered long ago.

      Second the antenna you describe is a doublet, and not strictly a dipole. You’re essentially building a G5RV, which radiates both as a dipole and a vertical to some degree. That’s fine, but it’s a different antenna.

      Third, the End-Fed in question was requested to be tested by me from the designers, which I did over a period of time. In order to properly test something a control is needed, in this case the LNR. It performs well and surpasses it in many regards. I did not use a counterpoise in the test because I did not use one in the LNR test, but I did recommend using one and even explained what they are for those that don’t know in the earlier test. I’m strictly evaluating the antennas as built, not from modifications I may make.

      Last, I ‘insist’ on using one for the simplicity of it’s design and rapid deployment in a less-than-perfect scenario. I packs up tight, unrolls right, and performs. Ladder line, not so much.

  4. Alfred E. Neuman

    Reblogged this on ETC., ETC., & ETC..