Sparks31 Sends Some Perspective


Via MDT.

Go read it once for outcome and once for process.

I was dooming all over a smart chap a few years back.

He reminded me that before there was Pax Americana, there was Pax Britannia.

And Pax Romana before that.

He reminded me that human history is a history of conflict, its antecedents, and its consequences.

Reversion to the mean.

It’s the future.

11 responses to “Sparks31 Sends Some Perspective

  1. “He reminded me that human history is a history of conflict, its antecedents, and its consequences.”
    And just a pinch of hubris.

  2. Alfred E. Neuman

    Reblogged this on ETC., ETC., & ETC..

  3. MichiganderJim

    “He reminded me that human history is a history of conflict, its antecedents, and its consequences.”

    Pfft…Fallacy of Picking & Choosing. Limited focus. Sure there’s always been conflict throughout history, but there’s also been innovation, production and happiness. Always.

    And sure there’s a war on right now, even if the bullets (and mortars and RPGs and Hellfires and nukes) haven’t flown yet. Fact remains that nothing stops a person from living as he chooses…until it does.

    The part that’s missing is a recognition that this is what winning this particular war looks like. That’s why everyone is hoping that someone else will win the war for them; they fear responsibility above all else. Not coincidentally, that’s precisely what this war is about—WHO should be responsible for YOUR life?

    The current chorus…”Anyone but me.” Kinda obvious; just look at the candidates.

  4. Can anyone recommend an online source for learning how to use a multimeter? I have a cheap one but know almost nothing about it. Also, recommend a decent meter? Thanks.

    • I don’t know of an online source nor can I take the time now to give you even a basics introduction BUT I will encourage you to find an electrician friend or anyone with electrical knowledge AND EXPERIENCE to help ease you into understanding what a multimeter is and what it does. Even the guys at Home Depot or Lowes can give you a quickie crash course in using it for the simple things you might use it for around the house. I long since quit buying expensive meters and get by 98% of the time with the freebie Harbor Freight palm-sized one that stays with me in the truck. Most of the time, you will not need a fancy, perfectly accurate expensive meter, just one that tells you that you DO have voltage or continuity.

      • There ya go, I have to know what to measure before I can understand how a tape measure works, as Grenadier1 said. I have a cheap one as you mentioned, Craftsman, and I used it to test the voltage on some AA batteries but I din’t know what I was doing nor how to do it. I just held the pins on the end of the battery then turned the knob to where the needle moved. I don’t what any of it meant. This particular meter also has a C clamp device on it.

        One last question, can anyone recommend a decent Electronics book (easy to understand) so I can try to get some intelligence on the topic? Thanks again.

    • Its not so much learning to use the meter. The meter is just a tape measure, you need to know what you are measuring.
      Fluke makes good meters and they are the big name so can be found just about anywhere. There are others but a good Fluke will do you.
      The one you want again depends on what you will be measuring. They make them that do simple Volts, Amps and Ohms, but they also make them that begin to border on O-Scope capabilities with Ghz triggers to measure digital signals.
      Stick to a simple one until you learn to use it. Maybe get one that has the plug in for measuring 3 and 4 leg transistors.

      Regarding learning to use it…..
      Like I said you need to know what you are measuring so any good basic electronics text book will have what you need. Go to a college book store and get something that covers the latest circuit types. Once you have some level of understanding then you can begin to sort through older textbooks and books to pick out what is still useful. For example, I learned the old resistor color code. For older circuit boards that can still be useful. Most newly made stuff however has gone to all Surface Mount Devices that do not have a color code on them.

    • “The meter is just a tape measure, you need to know what you are measuring.” True dat. There’s a metric godzillion online tutorials, Silicon Graybeard has some
      pretty good ones (with some bonus humor, too). The first two – “About Electricity . . .” should get you started with a multimeter. I’d stick with the cheapies until you get some experience and idea what you’ll actually be using it for. Caution: Be sure you don’t have your test lead plugged into the current / amps socket unless you really ARE measuring current (which you shouldn’t attempt until you figure out what’s going on). If you decide you want to upgrade, you won’t go wrong with Fluke (mine’s been going strong for about 30 years now).

      • That’s great, I’ll check them (links) out. Thanks! And yes, my research has shown the Flukes are the industry standard so I’ll be checking them out but will stick with the cheap Craftsman for now.

    • video


      Or go to your local makerspace, people there would be glad to help you.

  5. I don’t have or need an elaborate listening post. I am long past the need to eavesdrop on the enemy and frankly anyone reading this should be too. I do happen to enjoy ‘real’ coffee, campfires and sunsets.

    Shoot the effing TV. It’s killing you. Heck, I’ll go one step more: If you have the TV on, you’re a god damn fool and part of the problem.