DTG: Knife Construction Preferences And Other Basics

knife-styles

A very good starting point for your blade education.

Fundamentals – be they tools, skills, or supplies – are the building blocks of success.

11 responses to “DTG: Knife Construction Preferences And Other Basics

  1. Full tang, if you’re serious.
    The rest are toys, for children.

  2. Full tang only for me. I think it was Jeff Cooper that said ‘only accurate rifles are interesting.’ I’ll add that ‘only extremely tough and razor sharp knives are interesting.’

    Curious no mention in the post about HOW to sharpen that blade. I use an Edge Pro Apex system and it is superb. Highly recommended. I use a 5000 grit tape as the final polish.

  3. been purchasing my knives from a young man in the mid west. indyknives.com. James, Is a metalsmith, hand making knives over a forge. His knives are fantastic, 1095 steel so they do require a bit more care, which is fine with me, as I will re oil, and touch up the edge as needed.

    I own lots of knives, and about two years ago I discovered James, have purchased a dozen custom knives from him, since. His Damascus line of knives are unreal. Kirmbitjs,,curved blades, to my favorite spear points are great knives.

    James makes a Damascus folder which is off the charts cool.

    I received a custom built Kukri from James last week. I asked for an inch longer, as I like the weight in the tip, for better control,,and more volicity in the knife stroke. ,

    If your looking for a great hand built full tangled, 1095 knife, consider the above. I think you will be pleased with the quality, the1095 s ability to hold an edge,,and the looks/ feel,of his knives in your hand.,,

    Where else can you get a real Damascus made knife for under 150.00

    Dirk

  4. Full Tang only.. https://agrussell.com
    Best handmade or commercial lines available.
    Best info about knives

  5. Alfred E. Neuman

    Reblogged this on FOR GOD AND COUNTRY.

  6. Knifes much like tools have different purposes. 30 years as a butcher/meatcutter. Working in a slaughter house you use Hot Knifes with a hollow grind and a fine edge, hit a bone and you will nick or chip your blade. Roll a hind or fore quarter out the cooler where it’s been hanging for 2 weeks, different story. Basically 3 knifes used, A 10″ breaking knife, a 6″ semi flexible curved boning knife and a 10′ or 12′ curved cemitar.
    I’ve bought several K-Bars over the years some Ontario’s and a couple of Camillus’s U.S.Navy all K-Bar type. Great fighting knifes or so I’m told, but I have so damn many I become proficient throwing them. I have over 300 knifes, not one real thrower. I guess the question is What for? I’m not aware of a blade that doe’s it all. Would you rebuild a small block with a crescent wrench?

  7. Good old Kabar USMC 7inch combat knives always did right by me ($70).
    Also, if you like Kabar or Becker knives, you will like Ontario Knives blade designs.

    Tops Knives are another great military/survival knife maker, (most are sub$200), high quality 1095 hi carbon steel.

    Check out AdventureSworn.com if you are in the market for an heirloom quality bushcraft blade ($300-400+up). These knives are just absolutely beautiful. Everything is handmade from knives, to leather sheaths, to matching lifestyles. Lots of choices for handle scale materials.

    Check out LT Wright knives on Google if you are interested in beautiful field grade bushcraft knives, at a reasonable price (sub $200). I own the GNS. Great Scandinavian Grind bushcraft knife in 1/8″ o1 tool steel with simple but effective Nicaragua handles.

    WRSA readers share your favorite blade makers.