Fred: Derbyshire For Secretary Of Education

b3a8d-Public_Education_Fail

Read this Derbyshire piece.

Then go to Fred’s riff.

Pity ’twill never happen.

20 responses to “Fred: Derbyshire For Secretary Of Education

  1. Fred’s article is great.
    Not addressed is what the heck shall become of the under-educated masses who cannot read or write or do simple math (like counting out change to a customer). They may become the next permanent under class in the US with their palms upward focused waiting for the next bread crumb handout.

  2. hummus abedin

    PUSSIES!!!
    dailymail.co.uk/news/article-4041490/amp/Chinas-Navy-seizes-American-underwater-drone-South-China-Sea.html?client=safari

    With all apologies to biological pussies.

  3. Randall Flagg

    Get rid of public education? The greatest waste of public $$$ ever imagined? Never ever gonna happen. Far too many getting fat off its trough.

  4. I’ve always known that public education was a bizarre con game, even when I was in it. About the eighth time I heard “Because I say so!”, it was more than apparent that the teachers who were inflicted on me, were there for a check and car waiting in the parking lot. You could fuck up, or you could endure, or you could conquer, it didn’t matter. The first time I dropped a Viet-Cong in his tracks, I knew what the fuck the deal was. I was there, and my former school mates were out making money, and doing shit I couldn’t even comprehend, in ways I didn’t understand, because we both were out doing what we wanted to do once we were out of the grasp of stupid fucking bureaucrats. Supposedly, they gave us the “tools”. No fucking way. They just lied to us, a lot, and demonstrated beyond the shadow of a doubt that they were there “teaching” us, because they lacked the skills and ambition to do anything else. It’s a monstrous thing, growing all the way up at nineteen, having been sheltered from, and lied to about, what life really means. Later, I slowly learned that every single person you meet or know can be your undoing, and that you’d better have VERY high standards about who to trust. Even the ones closest to you, can be your worst enemy. Public education is a scam, and a very bad joke. I really would like for this country to take a very hard look at it, and come up with a better plan. Everything I’ve ever learned that was of any value, I learned outside of school.

  5. Fred’s article laments the results of “collectivized education”. His answer is to tweak the Government … the same Government which is the embodiment of the Collective. Always.

    I can’t see how that can possibly improve matters.

    “That cyanide is killing you … here, have some strychnine, instead.”

    It’s the same in England, though. I have met boys of 16, unable to write their own names. That in itself wouldn’t be a problem, if those boys were not compelled to remain in “education”. They don’t want to be in school; yet, they must attend. So, it’s not surprising that they might devote themselves to creating disharmony.

  6. And in would argue education is fundamental, the learning platform is what we question.

    I would argue that education develops our inner skills set. Our social graces, our communication skills, our sand box 101.

    I would argue that education must teach our past, or we will never grasp and truly understand our future, or direction.

    In the end it matters. How it matter is different for all of us.

    Dirk

  7. When I was in Jr and High School (’65-’69) we had shop classes (drafting, print, wood, electric, metal, auto) and I took all of them at one time or another because I wanted to learn something more than the academic classes offered me. One of the few things my dad did right by me was getting me interested in auto mechanics when I was in grammar school. I got my first job (illegally) at 13 pumping gas just to be able to be around cars, changing oil and such. By the time I got my first car at 16 I was changing out clutches and doing engine mods by myself.  I worked my way through college and three years of post-grad work (three teaching credentials {two in Special Ed} in CA) as a mechanic.

    By the time I started teaching *ALL* shop classes were long gone. There was nada for the kids with no aptitude whatsoever for academics but plenty for hands-on work to gravitative to but nowhere to go. They were stuck with the bullshit mantra of “Everybody Needs A College Degree”. I taught retarded kids how to turn a wrench, read a menu, make change, sort and solder electronic components, cross the street without getting g killed, ride a bus and detail cars. I got a bunch of them good jobs at car dealerships, print shops and the like. Rewarding as hell.

    It’s a goddamned shame. Any DoE worth his/her salt in a Trump admin should push hard for the re-institution of these types of options for students. We are gonna need them for the future infrastructure projects Trump has promised.

  8. Alfred E. Neuman

    Reblogged this on FOR GOD AND COUNTRY.

  9. SemperFi, 0321

    +10 Sean!
    Look who picks up a book AFTER they leave school. Look who is interested in educating themselves, on their own time. I have met grown adults who bragged of never having read a book, cover to cover. Fukn astounds me, but it’s those same folks who revel in their ignorance of only knowing one language (barely) or never having eaten any foreign foods, because it’s un-American. Nothing like restricting the gene pool with monosyllables when you have an entire thesaurus to work with. But it’s also those same folks who have no idea how bad their lack of education was, because they never got it anyway.
    Look at where the US sits today on a global level of education, math skills are at about 34th place (yes, all those beaners south of the border are better educated than your own kids!), and yet my own friends just beam about how great our schools are (it’s mostly about the sports), never realizing how pathetically low their own performance levels were, or those of their children. Must have something to do with our exceptionalism, being better than the rest of the world automatically makes you smarter at birth.
    The European trade school system has a lot going for it, after 8th grade the public babysitters are finished with their work, and then you decide what’s going to work for you. Trade school or university. And for those that didn’t study, tough shit.
    And on that same note, having gone back to college a few yrs ago at 58 for archaeology, I came to realize it’s also a rigged game. The school systems are set up and run by liberals, if you are not of that same political mind set, with the same sets of mental skills, you won’t do well. I have struggled terribly with classes because I refuse to buy into the subtle brainwashing associated with climate change and progressive politics, all of which is injected into the classroom. Everything hinges on more grant money, and if you don’t speak the language, no more money. I finally quit, not because of poor grades, but rather over the communist system that runs things, it’s no longer about science, but rather brainwashing, which I refuse to take part in.

  10. The dept of edumachsun definitely needs to be tossed immediately into the ‘dumbster’ as ‘gov’ has no business ‘educating’ anybody.

    Homeschool wherever/whenever possible!

    Failing that. how about tapping John Taylor Gatto for the post…wouldn’t be any worse than putting Charlie Askins as head of immigration…

    Yours In Liberty..what is important in life I learned OUTSIDE of ‘school’!
    NorthGunner III

  11. +10 Semper Fi!
    ” I have met grown adults who bragged of never having read a book, cover to cover. Fukn astounds me, but it’s those same folks who revel in their ignorance of only knowing one language (barely) or never having eaten any foreign foods, because it’s un-American. Nothing like restricting the gene pool with monosyllables when you have an entire thesaurus to work with. But it’s also those same folks who have no idea how bad their lack of education was, because they never got it anyway.”

    You aren’t kidding!!..one of my neighbors is openly proud of not being a reader…scariest part for me is that he is a major collector of machineguns.
    Tried having some intelligent conversations with him on occasion..didn’t go anywhere fast due to his arrogance aligned with self-perpetuating ignorance.

    As my late father told me, “Those who won’t/don’t read WILL be ruled by those who do”.

    Yours In Self-Educated Liberty!
    NorthGunner III

  12. Having homeschooled my kids for two years now, I realize most organized schooling is bunk. Especially government-collectivized schools, which have degenerated into indoctrination/babysitting centers with no discipline other than teaching students to Revere The State’s Authority. Exercise self-defense against a physical attack by a bully? You BOTH get suspended for fighting. What lesson does that teach the victim? Stay meek in the face of force.
    Yes, private schools can be great (I myself received an excellent 2nd-12th Grade education at the hands of the Sister of Mercy, a great misnomer). But today, parents of kids in private schools MUST go to great lengths to determine what their students are being taught, and by what methods. They must also teach their kids that learning is NOT limited to the classroom. As Mark Twain said, “Do not let school get in the way of your education.”

  13. “… I slowly learned that every single person you meet or know can be your undoing, and that you’d better have VERY high standards about who to trust. Even the ones closest to you, can be your worst enemy…”

    GOLDEN

    It all comes down to recycling 100-200 million murkins to whence they came – dust.

  14. SemperFi, 0321

    Don’t you feel that teaching today’s youth is the same as SpecEd classes?
    My recent experience around college students the last few yrs was exasperating to say the least. Archaeology Field School involved almost a month out in the high deserts of Wyoming. We set up wall tents, camping tents and I dug the shitter every couple of days, because I was the only one who had any idea what a slit trench was. Most just stood around, trying to be as ignorant about manual labor as possible, and then repeatedly staring into their cell phones, which hadn’t had any reception for over 72 hrs (the following summer, 1 student was finally sent home because he even pissed off the professor enough with his non-stop cell phone addiction). I have nowhere near the patience you do, because I’d be doing a few minutes of Drill Instructor yelling, and then expecting some action, like 2 seconds ago. I myself cannot comprehend the mental and physical laziness from these kids, and then their instructors act like all is well with them. They almost encourage this juvenile behavior from 18-20 yr olds.
    But that is where this special snowflake comes from also, from teachers who are barely above that level themselves.

  15. In high school I worked full-time.I got shitty grades.I bought a 1964 Triumph TR4-A when I was fourteen. 35-40 hours a week cooking in restaurants and resorts I had about 4-5 cars before that. I drove them through the woods. I bought a Triumph parts car and built one nice Triumph.First street bike bought at fifteen. 1970 Honda CB 350.Learners permit and motorcycle at fifteen. Mobile. Better job. More money.Drove a semi in and out of Boston. I could build and repair all those vehicles myself at fifteen. I ran and serviced Ford 9’s and Minneapolis Molines,drop down sickles,windrow and balers,plow ,harrow,manure spreader,dozer,conveyor belts,pick up trucks and hay wagons. At sixteen I built a hot rod and went racing.I worked my way through college and my apprenticeship. Chef at twenty one.Never looked back., hot rods and scooters. Way of life. AA/fuelies,drag bikes,choppers,hot rods,jeeps,pro streets,tractor pulls and lawnmower racing. It is a sickness.
    High school taught me how to function around,”regular people.” I learned more in one semester of college,than in four years of high school. I wanted to learn. One good teacher or coach can make a difference.

  16. Charlie Askins as head of immigration…

    Priceless!

  17. As Mark Twain said, “Do not let school get in the way of your education.”

    He also said, “First, God made an idiot for practice. Then, he made a school board.”

  18. Education is the transmission, not just of knowledge, but of culture, language and values, all of which a crucial to societal viability and continuity.

    It’s not whether education, it’s about how. What we have now was planned to end up where we find ourselves, just like all the other cultural degradation and corruption of our institutions and values. Creeping devolution, the long march….

    Get the .gov out. Redefine the process. Kids don’t learn not because they don’t want to or can’t but because of the stultifying bureaucracy and ridiculous regs and burden put on teachers, and political “correctness” social engineering imposed on them.

    Utter rot and nonsense is the norm in teacher education. They are indoctrinated to indoctrinate, not educate.

    If our culture and country is to be preserved/restored, we can and must do better, but the present system and paradigm must be eradicated first.

  19. Amen Brothers…Very Well Said…

  20. DWEEZIL THE WEASEL

    I went back to work as a teachers aide here at a high school in Rawles Land last Sept. Before that, I had a part-time job in retail. Yes, I am an old man with old values and ethics given to me by Depression-era and WWII-era parents, family, and friends. The balance was administered(sometimes quite forcefully) by Father Vader, Sister Mary Hercules, and several Army Drill Sergeants. I succeeded due to correct study habits and behavior patterns which fostered respect, obedience, and a sense of self-worth which required achievement in life.
    What I see now in my geezer years is indeed horrific. It’s all about I-phones, ear buds, music videos and computer “learning” which is nothing more than babysitting. The end result are legions of “students”, with few exceptions, who cannot read to level, write to level, or comprehend anything beyond simple math. And, THEY DO NOT CARE! I rightly fear for the future. When the economic music does stop, it will be Bandenkrieg, pure and simple. The culling will be terrible beyond description. Keep prepping, my friends.