WeaponsMan: The Many Flavors Of Strategic Reconnaissance

rt-asp-g-robb-4

History and instruction.

Then and now.

15 responses to “WeaponsMan: The Many Flavors Of Strategic Reconnaissance

  1. Only one piece of cake remained in the box.

  2. Alfred E. Neuman

    Reblogged this on FOR GOD AND COUNTRY.

  3. are those actually adjustable stocks on the M-16s or just cut down?

  4. The Usual Suspect

    Hey Tom, I wonder why Republicans don’t play the game
    by the same rules they do ?

  5. Weapons also known and designated as “GAU-5A” commonly referred to by my generation as, “GAU’s”…file under, ‘FWIW’

  6. those are the earlier xM177s, check the very long jungle flash suppressor. Colt commandos had stock bird cages, of cause those SOG guys could change up to what they wanted.

    their vests set up is for lifting thru the jungle canopy via a jungle penitrator dropped to them for extract from a helo, but then I could be wrong.

    Dirk

    • Maquire rig……….that’s what it was called when I was there…….we called it “coming out on strings” STABO was another method of extraction that came along. With the Maquire rig the entire team could lift out at the same time hands free and continue to put some degree of suppressive fire on those pursuing .

      • SemperFi, 0321

        I’ve ridden STABO at Counter Guerrilla Warfare School, 1 man per pair of 120′ rappelling ropes, attached at the shoulders with carabiners, and flown with 1 pair of ropes out each side door of a Huey, so extract was only 2 men a t a time.
        I believe the McQuire was the 1 man seat attached to a pair of rappelling ropes, ridden backwards with a wind flag overhead to keep it from spinning.
        USMC SPIE (special purpose insert/extract) rig is one very thick 150′ rope with 5 prs of D-rings spliced in in pairs, so 2 men hang side by side at 10′ intervals. Ridden those many times.

        Your weapons terminology is also wrong, the XM177 had a 10″ bbl, the XM177E2 had an 11.5″ bbl and none of them were known as a Colt Commando back then. Both had the 5″ flash suppressor with 3 internal baffles, now considered a silencer by BATF. Many guys in SOG replaced them with the simple A1 birdcage, and I can speak from experience, they almost left your ears bleeding.
        The GAU is a USAF model, lacking fwd assist.

        • not going to argue these points to much with you….but.! 1971 I carried a colt commando 10.5″ barrel birdcage flash hider (you say 10″) ? either way it WAS a colt commando.
          I was extracted several times on McQuire rigs , 5 man team all came out together not two at a time. Also flew on STABO rigs none had seats ?
          You say my terminology is wrong…were you there..? not a slam , just seems odd to ………ah fuck it , waste of time

          • SemperFi, 0321

            No, I was not there. Won’t argue about that one bit.
            I have flown STABO and have first hand experience, was shown rigging and then riding that system. Ours did not have wind sail, we used arms to prevent spinning.
            But I think your brain is getting fuzzy, McGuire rig is one man seat (see pg 221, 233, ‘SOG A Photo History…….John Plaster’ 2000).
            STABO is like parachute harness with 2 shoulder clips, and web belt went thru loops in harness.

            Only name I ever heard used then was CAR-15 or XM, never heard of a Commando. Colt Commando and GAU seem to be new names just coming out due to more detailed research by internet collectors. I own a XM177E2 and Colt 653, so I’m familiar with those weapons.

            I went to Small Arms Repair School, Aberdeen MD in 1981, all we covered there was the M-16A1, not once was a CAR-15, XM-177 or Colt Commando even mentioned, and before then I remembered seeing XM-16A1’s in 3rd MarDiv in 1973, possibly even Hydra-Matics, so worn they shined. So I do have a vague idea of what was carried back then, and also will apologize for my mistake of saying I’ve never heard of a Colt Commando until recently. Guess my terminology was wrong.

  7. ……correction on the spelling……..McQuire