Answer to question: “Does a properly-accoutred 21st-century Freikorps volunteer wear a K-pot? Asking for a friend…”

DTG says “Hell, no!”.

And gives his reasoning.

Other thoughts?

27 responses to “Answer to question: “Does a properly-accoutred 21st-century Freikorps volunteer wear a K-pot? Asking for a friend…”

  1. CA,

    I would have to ask “Why does your “friend” want the Kevlar; for what purpose ?”

    Now, the DTG argument is certainly valid. Is your “friend” patrolling a nighttime perimeter with chances of infiltrators coming thru the wire and covertly taking out your sentry pal ? DTG may have a point.

    Or is your “pal” looking at prepping up to engage Commie thugs at an anti-POTUS Trump rally with an 3′ oak riot baton, body armor and ballistic headgear ? Then I would suggest the Kevlar.

    But for MY purposes a bump helmet is what I have and train with. It has no ballistic protective properties, has an NVG shroud, one 3-inch Picatinny rail on either side above the ear, and supplied chinstrap has been replaced with an OPS-CORE Head-Lox X-Nape chinstrap.

    My suggestions:

    1. http://www.pthelmets.com I use the PT A-Bravo half-shell to allow use of electronic ear muffs. See their military category for selections.

    2. Whatever helmet you, I mean your “friend” chooses, get rid of the stock chinstrap. I suggest replacing it with the OPS-CORE H or X Nape chinstrap.. Trust me (yeah, I know. One of the 4 biggest lies) on this.

    3. If your bud doesn’t have one, secure a military aviators helmet bag. It works exactly as it was designed to do. Store your helmet, NODSs, batteries, etc in the bag. Snatch it and go. Available from any US military clothing sales store or surplus online. Google it.

    There’s my opinion. FWIW.

  2. BTW….here is one source for the OPS-CORE chinstrap. Forgot to provide it during my monologue:

    https://tnvc.com/shop/category/chinstraps/

  3. I’ll keep my “sloggers” brand quasi-Australian bush hat. It has built-in insect repellent.

  4. Don’t fasten the chinstrap at night, on walking sentry duty.
    Nor amongst people likely to try and twist your head off with it if fastened, or pluck it off to bean you with.
    Problem solved.

    If you have something else in mind, which stops missiles up to the size and velocity of .44Magnum going 1500fps, I’d like to hear about it.

    Otherwise, the tactic described is about as relevant as noting that seatbelts might trap you in a burning car.
    (The answer isn’t not to wear them, it’s to unbuckle them, then exit.)

    We have opposable thumbs, FFS.

    • With respect, I answered WRSA’s masthead question with a post on my blog. You, on the other hand, did not (at least here); you simply provided an alternative to one point in the post, which is fine as far as it goes, but still does not answer the question posed in the masthead.

      Regarding relevance of my opinion, the same could be said about yours, including the snark conflating helmet wear with seat belts and opposable thumbs.

      As you’ve chosen to be condescending about my opinion, let’s hear yours: Should people equip themselves with a K-pot? Why or why not?

      Thanks,

      • On the defense, in a prepared position, you engage a target. What part of your body is exposed while using the weapon? Some additional protection for the head might make some sense, yes?

  5. Dan has it about right.

    Bump helmet is very desirable for urban parrolling of any sort. It prevents all sorts of head injuries from falls or falling objects. It also replaces the skull crusher mount shoukd you wear nods.

    I spent 27 years wearing kevlar helmets of one sort or another. DTG points out the advantages and disadvantages well enough. That said, a bump helmet and good eye protection are indispensable when patolling urban or rural.

    When i went to ranger school in the dark ages we wore softcaps. Many head and eye injuries in our platoon. USAIS now requires helmets and eye pro for good reason. Years later when i was an OC at JRTC we always wore eye pro on patrol, even with softcaps. We also wore helmets during live fire for safety. Secondary projectile hazard cannot be neglected. Bullets cause all types of Spall, much of which can be stopped by a quality bump helmet.

    Safety first. Pick what you like for safetu gear. Adjust your first aid skills accordingly.

  6. Freikorps worked as units.

    And nobody in their right mind puts a single person on a guard post.

    “Sentry takedown” is the stuff of comic books.

    S//

  7. SemperFi, 0321

    And exactly for that reason that the WW2 Fallschirmjäger helmet was a rimless version of their M35 steel pot. They caused neck injuries! The Brits figured it out right away and made an exact copy, we on the other hand took another 60 yrs to figure it out. Making exceptional helmets takes time.

  8. Crye Nightcap works well for NVG mount with very light weight and good airflow. No headache (a la skull crusher).

  9. Aesop and SFC Barry have it right. May I suggest that the post SHTF landscape will be dominated by effective platoon and company sized groups that can do fire and maneuver. And if nothing else, everybody in the same uniform and helmet gives the impression of a disciplined military unit. That might be useful to you, or not.

  10. TheyCallMeRockStar22

    I recommend a helmet.
    Bricks, flying missles, what have you.
    Bump your head on Armor plating once.
    You’ll learn.
    Also, Ballistic or not, it looks bulletproof.
    So you can save weight and neck problems for the older guys but maintain the sex appeal.
    Ill be covered head to toe in armor and ammo like Im gunning in Sadr City, except Im in Bmore city.
    But Im 30 and 195 pounds of Paratrooper.
    The older guys might wanna consider more ammo and less armor.
    If you slip a disk or tear a ligament you are gonna have trouble.
    Ammo gets lighter, armor gets heavier.

  11. Just don’t buckle the chinstrap. Obviously, it could fall off, but at least no one can yank it back.

  12. I run a TNVC set of nvg’s and a non-ballistic helmet for a mount.

    I don’t wear armor of any type .. I’m old and well .. slower than when I was many years ago. So, if I carry anything extra .. it’s ammo.

    The one thing I haven’t bought yet is my DBal type weapon mounted illuminator / designator / aiming device.

    As I was Navy and on Submarines .. my advice may be a little off regarding your applications.

  13. According to the combat casualty stats from the TCCC: 36.2% of deaths are due to penetrating wounds to the neck or head. This is not opinion, this is the real numbers.

    Will a brain bucket stop all of these: of course not, don’t be silly. But the fact remains that getting hit in the head is still killing over 1/3 of those that die. Please don’t make my job harder.

  14. DTG is spot-on. fo an MAG etc Operational concept the disadvantages of such helmets outweight the advantages. simple as that… PPL need to step away from the big mil thinking…
    If your NPT, MAG etc gets hit with arty on a regular basis knock yourself out.. otherwise softcap , booie hat or light bump helmet.

  15. Hee… Good tips! And specially not the “Chrome Dome”
    🙂

  16. Grenadier1

    This is the old Armor vs speed argument.
    To all things there is a time.
    If I am on a patrol in the bush for several days I think I would want a patrol cap and no body armor. Nothing extra to weight me down and sap my energy.
    If however I am moving at night in an urban environment. Then I want at least a bump helmet. The basic ability to securely mount NVG’s alone is enough but I have to say I have cracked my head on a steel I beam and about knocked myself out. It is not something I want to ever experience again. I was fishing under a bridge, I would hate to do it if I had guys trying to shoot me.

  17. If you have time and reason to put on plates, you have time and reason to armor your dome.

    If you think you’re going to remove a lone sentry, but can’t get your head around the fact SFC Barry is correct, get a 45 oz dead blow hammer. You might get lucky, but given the blood borne pathogens in the demographic dumb enough to put out singletons, it’s something to think about. Then again, it involves thinking.

    • Any suggestions on .civ access to the most efficient (light but still offering rational ballistic protection) modern brainbuckets?

      Even those of us w/o cervical issues (yet) would be indebted…

  18. Fads come and go. A few years ago EVERYBODY had to run out and buy a brain bucket. Now it’s no longer the “in” thing for the “freefor” (or whatever we’re calling it this week) We had to buy soft armor-then not. We had to buy HARD armor. Then not. We HAD to get an AK when they were cool-then an AR-Then a SCAR-Then the SCAR sucked. We had to get a “drop leg”-now THEY suck. Guess what? 99% of this gear whore shit is a FAD, from boots and uniforms to weapons and equipment. Most of you buy gear and weapons because the great internet guru told you too, and because you think it makes you look like an “operator”. Guess what? There is no uniform that will make you invisible. No equipment that will not come unglued in the field. No armor that can cheat the angle of death ,and no weapon the lives up to it’s internet hype. Use what makes you feel good. Your ass is the one that lives and dies in it and your hero’s in “X” unit use the gear they do because somebody ORDERED THEM TOO. NOT because it’s the best.