Suggestions

Via Gab.

If anyone sees anything that shouldn’t be part of an average person’s security/privacy upgrade, sing out in comments please on what and why.

Thanks.

53 responses to “Suggestions

  1. Windows/Mac – distrowatch.com (any flavor of Linux).

    Just do your research.

    Ubuntu apparently was tracking/gathering via its built-in search function. Mint downloads were compromised. But we know what the big Brothers are doing. There are alternatives. Install virtual box and download any distro to try before installing. Then dual boot or fresh install.

    • Froggie.

      Could you please repost your comments….IN ENGLISH ? ? ?

      Thank you.

      • Google to find a “hackerspace” near you. Bring a laptop with you to the weekly open house night. Say you’d like help loading “Linux” on it, and you’ll buy someone a beer afterwards.

      • Sorry Dan. The suggestion is to familiarize yourself with Linux. There are flavors (versions), depending on you experience level, that will provide an alternative to the big two (Microsoft/Apple) operating systems running on most personal computers. Depending on your experience there are some that are very “windows like” and some that would allow for more experienced tweaking. Virtualbox is a software that you can run on your current OS (windows) that is free and that allows you to test drive any version of Linux you’d like without making the big jump to something you may not like in the end. You’re essentially fooling the virtual system into thinking it’s a real environment/system. After the most recent CIA revelation (like we should be surprised) I’m more determined to get myself and the family to accept a different desktop software, if only just to say FU or I won’t comply. I don’t like people up in my sh*t regardless of what Comey says about privacy expectations. Post more and I can certainly help.

  2. CA,

    I started doing the Twitter crap 3 weeks ago. This evening I did some Tweet things M-F’ing McCain, Paul Ryan, Webb Hubbell’s love child along with an assortment of “Fuck You Commie” to a large number Tweeter ass clowns. All of a sudden a Tweet thing flashed on my screen, telling me I was making people feel “unsafe”; that my account was suspended for 12 hours !

    CA….the Twitter people think they’re going to ruin my sleep tonight. So, to insure myself a good night’s rest I contacted Tweeter support and declared “Fuck You, Hillary Clinton and that low-life soetoro-obama !”

    I am distraugght. Do you think they’ll ban me ? 😊

  3. PS:

    Twitter, Tweeter, Twatter, whatever….you know what I mean CA.

    Should I call 911 ?

  4. I’m a big fan of duckduckgo, which isn’t mentioned. Any insights?

    • Oregon Hobo

      +1 on duckduckgo.com for the search engine

      #OREGON HOBO#

    • Grey Ghost

      I use DDG as my search engine… they don’t track way more than all the others. When and if they change their “privacy”/tracking policy I’ll have to reevaluate available search engines. The only time I go to google is to type in “fake” searches just to fuck with them.

      /r
      Grey Ghost

  5. +1 on duckduckgo!

  6. ditch your default dns, which probably belongs to google. 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4. neustar is 156.154.70.1 and 156.154.71.1. opendns is 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220. with your dns set to google, anything you do goes thru them first. block them at the firewall level too. it’s the alternative to whatever you don’t know you’re using right now.

    • What? How do we do that? Some of us are not programming mechanics.

      • https://support.hidemyass.com/hc/en-us/articles/202720776-Changing-your-DNS-settings-on-Windows-Mac-Android-iOS-Linux

        one of the easiest things you can do. but then i’m just an old geezer that remembers when these boxes weighed a whole lot more and did a whole lot less and it was a skill to whistle into a 300 baud modem to get it to pick up.

      • Does not require programming knowledge. It’s done simply in the configuration of your router. If you’ve never done that (which is ominous in itself) find some tech-savvy kid to show you how to find the router with your browser in your little home network and configure it to be a bit more secure (not necessarily against .gov but against the average kiddie). Really, it’s just some clicking & keystrokes. Takes longer to describe than to do. 🙂

      • If Winders, click Network/sharing app. click configure adapter. select IPv4 then properties. A panel will open one of the options is DNS entries. Add those entries there of your choice.

  7. I’m a big fan of fuck everyone and everything.
    g’damn murkin losers. there’s not 1 person out there who isn’t blowing smoke up your ass and trying to fuck you out of your $.

    Besides Pete.

  8. Facebook – MeWe

  9. VoxDay and a group of Alt-Techies have been creating a great organization of people and alternatives to the marxist/Stazi matrix. They have a bunch of stuff in development stages. They even have a dead tree and E-Book publishing house: http://www.castaliahouse.com/downloads/category/all/
    Looks like a pretty extensive Alt-Tech Gaming organization is close to completion. They have taken the Alt-Right zeitgeist to another level.
    They released these first two below recently.

    Alt-Tech news aggregate, just started couple weeks ago:
    https://news.infogalactic.com

    This is their Alt-Tech alternative to wikipedia.
    They have it running almost as smooth now as statistpedia:
    https://infogalactic.com/info/Main_Page

    Mike of 90 Miles From Tyranny got this news aggregate running about 1st of the year. Pretty darn awesome too. I think he created his own data mining program for collecting news. Loads wicked fast, easy on the eyes, the page reloads and tracks left to right through 24 hour news cycle.
    http://ancipient.com

  10. I tried signing up for GAB a little over a week ago. Still haven’t gotten anything back from them. Apparently they are backed up a little with over 400,000 applications ahead of me according to the counter at the signup form.

    • Yeah, gab.ai takes a few weeks to sign you up. Eventually you will be in, just be patient. It took me 3.
      Also if ”.wordpress.com” starts getting squirrelly, just grab the latest WordPress software, get your own host and drop WordPress and your blog archives there. The only thing you’ll notice different is the URL.

    • Randolph Carter

      Be sure to check your ‘social’ folder of your email – the mail from Gab is often filed there.

  11. Electronic Frontier Foundation and The Order of The White Rose are good resources.

  12. I also am a duck duck fan but also have used/liked startpage.

    • Startpage has good privacy protections, but it only anonymizes Google, and thus will not protect you from Google’s censorship. You need to switch to DuckDuckGo (or another alternative).

  13. I’ve never heard of Brave and after 2 minutes of research I do have some questions/concerns.

    For the non nerds: There is a strong possibility that it contacts Google behind your back. The documentation/auditing is basically non existent and I don’t have time to read the code so I can’t be sure.

    For the nerds: Brave appears to be a chrome fork. Prism-break.org explains why they don’t recommend SRWare Iron here: https://github.com/nylira/prism-break/issues/169
    Prism-break does not have a thread about Brave yet.

    Anybody care to enlighten me?

    • After Brendan Eich (of Mozilla fame) was hounded out of his company (!) by SJWs, he started up a new browser dev, BRAVE. Still not rock solid (or so I read; Vox Day’s blog has some discussion of it; he has recommended it), but getting there. I have extensions that, so far, sometimes keep me mired in Firefox, but when I can, I use Brave.

  14. That infogalactic.com alternative to Wikipedia seems to be wiki’s duplicate: I looked up a few things, and infogalactic’s articles have fonts, text, and pics identical to Wikipedia’s.

    What’s up with that? Is there a supposed benefit to using the copycat site?

    • The theory is less political editing of inconvenient facts.

    • Name (required)

      Infogalactic is a fork of Wikipedia. That means that it started out as Wickipedia, and is being changed – as necessary and as possible – to get rid of the liberal bias. An article which is strictly factual with no liberal bias is unlikely to be different between the two. Try going to a page which has political content and compare the two. I’m going to guess that Trump’s and Clinton’s pages will look quite different between the two sources by now.

      Go to Infogalactic’s start page, and read their criteria for inclusion. It’s very different than Wikipedia’s criteria.

    • Infogalactic is partly a Wiki duplicate, but is bring attended to quite diligently by Alt-Tech folks. (As I understand) the plan is that you’ll have access to the SJW-tainted/censored actual Wikipedia entries (if that’s your desire), but the Infogalactic ones are being updated to the truth. Previous iterations will be available, so you can see what has been changed. Main and highest goal is: no censoring!

  15. To CA’s specific topic, I’d start by reminding that there is a difference between security & convenience. Into convenience I’d put things like:

    a. Gab: If you do such Twitter-like things, by all means, do so due to the lessening of censorship.
    b. Brave: A browser that runs faster, and has more default ad-blocking, great. I use it myself especially for checking news-sites which have become so bloated as to be a piece of malware at which my CPU screams in agony. However, they need one more tweak to make themselves ready for primetime and that would be to allow click-collapsing of shortcut folders – otherwise some users may simply say “That’s nice” and go back to their “comfy familiar” browser. But it’s a great effort – been using it for awhile since a recommendation from Weaponsman awhile back.
    c. DuckDuckGo: I’d like to see it grow and, like a venereal disease, the more that use it the more the search solutions will spread (because it’s got a very long way to go in terms of doing deep searches, depending on the sloth-level of the user).

    As to security, if you’re on the public internet, you’re not secure. Exhale & resign yourself to it. It doesn’t mean you shouldn’t do things to put roadblocks up against private bad actors, or the kid driving around the neighborhood looking for your strong & unsecured Wi-Fi signal so he can park across the street & hijack your connection – you absolutely should.

    As to DNS, it’s kind of like Google’s search engine; it has a lot of routes (or search hits) available because it’s widely used – this knowledge store has occurred over time, That’s why it runs like a turpentined cat; unless it’s an attack victim (and it’s an attractive one) because when Google DNS goes down, a metric shit-ton of other stuff across the country goes down. So have the IP’s another poster mentioned above in your back pocket as well, e.g., the OpenDNS servers. Just do not plug those in under the mistaken belief that it makes you more secure. The .Gov has multiple tap-points across the country, not just into a handful of DNS servers, and these are done with the complicity of the telecomm providers AT THE CIRCUIT.

    By all means make your net life more operationally effective (and shove whatever middle-finger you choose at advertisers); use the tools that help you accomplish what you need. But if you have something you need to do that simply cannot be risked, do not do it on the internet. Period. (If you have 2 machines, the one on which you do “other stuff” never connects. Full stop.)

    • five.nines

      Badger,

      DNS more specifically is a protocol that translates domain’s to IP address’s. (google.com to 74.125.130.138) This makes it easy for you to know the English name of a domain and always get to it by a name vs IP address. God knows if I had to carry around a list of IP’s in my pocket of my favorite websites to visit, it would be quite a list. Changing your DNS server is quite easy to do on Windows or Linux/Unix box. The idea is changing your DNS server to another like the one mentioned OpenDNS which I am quite fond of, generally gets you a faster response time from your chosen DNS server, plus you may also gain some security. You can take it a step further and encrypt your DNS requests with this:

      https://dnscrypt.org/

      Been using DNS crypt for a couple years now, even before they started the nice looking GUI version and it was CLI only. To all others reading about the DNS crypt, this is ONLY encrypting the traffic between you and the chosen DNS server. All other traffic is stays the same (HTTP (web browsing), chat, etc.)

      That link to DNS crypt has some very good information on DNS vector attacks and what the software does for you.

    • Grey Ghost

      AND for the “airgapped” (not ever connected to the net…full stop) laptop I would also disable the “wireless network adapter” via the OS or in the BIOS if available there or both. Disabling the Bluetooth chipset is probably a good idea too. That should really tighten it up, not 100% but damn near.

      /r
      Grey Ghost

      • Concur; good eye, thanks. 🙂 Even an interface that lets it act as a terminal on an HF rig ends up USB at the computer end, so these can be kicked to the curb.

    • This brings up another great tool is to update your router firmware with open source firmware (Tomato or DD-WRT) which allows for a more customizable router. It can turn an old router into a beast. I love the options available. As a side note, I recommend also cutting the cable tv cord and getting an over the air antenna. Which you can then setup a media server (Plex) and get lots of content without feeding the TPTB.

  16. My only observation of the list is GAB.AI. It appears they are slow streaming getting users on the system as I am still waiting….

    I would also point out that the options on the list have nothing to do with security, but freedom. Consider using Tails or NinjaStick if you wish to increase your security level on the ‘Net. Just keep in mind that the only secure computer is the one that is 6’ under a landfill.

  17. VooDoo6Actual

    Deep State World Kabuki Theatre

    End the Fed & end the Chaos & non-sense…

    The Horror of it all…..
    “I’ve seen horrors… horrors that you’ve seen. But you have no right to call me a murderer. You have a right to kill me. You have a right to do that… but you have no right to judge me. It’s impossible for words to describe what is necessary to those who do not know what horror means. Horror. Horror has a face… and you must make a friend of horror. Horror and moral terror are your friends. If they are not then they are enemies to be feared. They are truly enemies. I remember when I was with Special Forces. Seems a thousand centuries ago. We went into a camp to inoculate the children. We left the camp after we had inoculated the children for Polio, and this old man came running after us and he was crying. He couldn’t see. We went back there and they had come and hacked off every inoculated arm. There they were in a pile. A pile of little arms. And I remember… I… I… I cried. I wept like some grandmother. I wanted to tear my teeth out. I didn’t know what I wanted to do. And I want to remember it. I never want to forget it. I never want to forget. And then I realized… like I was shot… like I was shot with a diamond… a diamond bullet right through my forehead. And I thought: My God… the genius of that. The genius. The will to do that. Perfect, genuine, complete, crystalline, pure. And then I realized they were stronger than we. Because they could stand that these were not monsters. These were men… trained cadres. These men who fought with their hearts, who had families, who had children, who were filled with love… but they had the strength… the strength… to do that. If I had ten divisions of those men our troubles here would be over very quickly. You have to have men who are moral… and at the same time who are able to utilize their primordial instincts to kill without feeling… without passion… without judgment… without judgment. Because it’s judgment that defeats us.”

    Apocalypse Now: Marlon Brando “Horror”

  18. Pericles has it…MeWe ,not Flakebook.Many former FB people there who escaped the BS.

  19. CA should have a section like zeroing your scope for alternatives. Add as you go.