On Reality, Courage, And Student Expectations Of Life

On the other hand, I remember all too clearly what a douchecanoe I was at 23.

And that was after I put down the booze and drugs.

(H/t Maggie’s)

Related from the prof:

Trigger warning: These are the most terrifying books I have encountered

18 responses to “On Reality, Courage, And Student Expectations Of Life

  1. The list is outstanding, but – no “Rise And Fall Of The Third Reich”?

    Also, I believe there is an assumption that most of the audience has already read “Animal Farm”, maybe when they were younger. This is probably not the case.

  2. GM Lavallee

    wow. on the mark

  3. Their comments in the above video on the current definitions of “gender expression” being essentially fashion choices https://youtu.be/X_Kfm_qWpN0?t=214 (I’ll further add the explaination because it does not require any medical diagnosis or legal documentation to be considered the other gender) and the current situation with the marginalization of women and the Feminists who want to defend the original intent of Title 9 legislation (to protect and defend the rights of girls and women from being trampled on by men) vs the LGBTQ Transgender Equality avdocates is spot on. https://youtu.be/X_Kfm_qWpN0?t=268

  4. Great list from a quick scan. ‘Brave New World’ and ‘1984’ fundamentally shook my world view as a high school student about to enter the world of pseudo-adulthood. Orwell’s prescience cannot be denied. I have never looked at the world- nor especially my fellow men- in the same manner since assimilating those texts.

    ‘The Gulag Archipelago’ is a punishing read- I maybe made it 200-300 pages. Further than the 47 pages I trudged through in ‘Das Kapital,’ but I cannot recommend it at this time. Ditto that for ‘Beyond Good and Evil.’ I tried reading Nietzsche late at night, after long, hard summer days at work immediately upon graduating from college. I got nowhere.

    I have been perusing the site off and on for the last ten days or so. A commenter at SBPDL posted a link to this page and other than tfat’s occasional good points degenerating into frothing, rabid rants, I am impressed with the quality of the site, the intelligence of the comments (and the authors of said comments), and feel like this site gives me a chance to contemplate and devise a constructive approach to the future ahead- as grim as it appears to be.

    I will also confess that some of the comments have shaken me to the core- especially the remarks about the 1965/19__/1990 immigration acts, the 700,000 mandated 3rd worlders per year, and the demographic abyss we dive into sometime between 2020-2025. It has left me depressed, almost paralyzed, these last several days. I have started to evaluate my approach to the world that will come after that, but the scales have barely fallen, so it is all a bit raw.

    Thank you all for your comments. I feel less alone because of your words.

    • Welcome.

      This is an … unusual place.

      But hopefully worthwhile.

      Here’s one from the archives in the left margin (14,000+ posts) that is important for orientation:

      http://westernrifleshooters.blogspot.com/2008/01/revolution-was.html linking to https://mises.org/library/revolution-was

    • “…I tried reading Nietzsche late at night, after long, hard summer days at work immediately upon graduating from college. I got nowhere.”

      You should try reading Mein Kampf. It’ll make you understand why somebody invented television.

      • Television..,the glass teat to deceive, distract and dumb down the masses (and also get them thoroughly hooked on specious mindless consumerism)..all planned just like Bernays taught!

        And now young adults have to take “adulting” classes to try to figure out what they should have known if they hadn’t been turned into morons by ‘public education’ and its enhancement via Ritalin, Prozac and Luvox via the ‘school nurse’ and on site ‘mental health expert’.

        Only a hard reset will do…
        (although one is welcome to try to awaken the youth before its too late, that requires getting them away from the glass teat and its ancillary tentacles first though…not impossible but daunting).

        Yours in Daily Armed Liberty!
        NorthGunner III

        • And now young adults have to take “adulting” classes to try to figure out what they should have known if they hadn’t been turned into morons by ‘public education’ and its enhancement via Ritalin, Prozac and Luvox via the ‘school nurse’ and on site ‘mental health expert’.

          That stuff was done by and with the consent of their parents.

          Don’t despise the kids for being poorly raised.

          Help them.

  5. Have read most of them. NOT as a part of my so-called “education”.

    Way back when I picked up a copy of Sinclair Lewis’ 1930s potboiler novel, “It Can’t Happen Here”, about a totalitarian government in America. Awful piece of writing, but Lewis understood that most Americans didn’t value freedom enough to bestir themselves.

  6. Boo frickin’ hoo!
    The Junior Leftist League turns out to have learned the nonsensical lessons so well, they’re tearing down their own bastions?

    How sharper than a serpent’s tooth…