MDT: Perspectives From Infantry Combatants

JC posts about a likely-unbridgeable gap.

Comments at his shop, please.

43 responses to “MDT: Perspectives From Infantry Combatants

  1. That commentary, or whatever you’d refer to it as, is one of the biggest loads of arrogant BS I have read in a long time.
    Because you’re infantry you’re now automatically a better man than the rest of us? So what were you before you joined the exalted holy infantry?
    A weakling like the rest of us?
    Because you were infantry and saw combat we are weak and you are strong? Then go right into why infantry are killing themselves and what needs to change to stop that?
    I thought because you were infantry you were not weak like the rest of us and automatically better than the rest of us, so why are you killing yourselves? Per the article you know from your time in the infantry that you can best anything in life, so why are you killing yourselves?
    Arrogance is the confidence of a coward, and a weakness.
    Newsflash asshole, the rest of us aren’t standing around bragging about how tough or manly we are, then acting like cowards by killing ourselves when things genuinely get tough.
    We are quietly going about our lives without complaint and with the quietude of real courage and face life on life’s terms. We don’t have shit to prove, our actions do the talking.

    • I took it a lil different.

      Inter-Service & Inner-Service clashes / brev’otto aside ..

      I look at it from a combat veteran as .. anyone who was the tip of the spear during times of aggression.

      We all had the same faults .. and generally temper our views as we age ..

      The brev’otto sometimes takes much longer.

      We do need to provide more peer-to-peer intervention among our fellow vets though .. and that is .. in my opinion the thrust of the content .. or maybe I am reading between the lines to much.

    • anonymous – I’m guessing by your response that you served in a different branch of the military than infantry? See a lot of your friends blown to pieces where you served? Have to blow a lot of people on the other side to pieces?
      If the answer to the three questions above are all “No” then you’re just a prick who deserves the ass beating an infantry guy will probably give you if you have the balls to say that to his face. I hope it ends up on YouTube.

      • JJ, keep in mind this is a guy who can’t even post his name (whether real or “inter”maginary) on the internet. He would never say that to a man in real time, lest he have to be responsible for his words.

        • MDT
          I don’t need to post my name because I do not post foolish bravado nor otherwise run my mouth in foolish fashion as both the original article author, JJ, and now yourself have.
          It is called being responsible for my words, it’s too easy to run one’s mouth on a forum such as this and get away with it, consequently I am careful with my words as Grenadier noted.
          However being careful with one’s words and thoughts does not preclude speaking the truth, as the foolishness of that article demanded.
          The same for speaking to an individual personally.

          Anon.

          • “I don’t need to post my name because I do not post foolish bravado nor otherwise run my mouth in foolish fashion”
            I think you got that backwards. You don’t want to post your name or known internet name/callsign because you did and do post foolish things on the intenet. It’s ok, we get it. So what else did you take away from your time playing Call of Duty……?

      • JJ
        Your answer is on the same level of the fool who wrote the macho arrogance in that article.
        As evidenced by the fact you did not directly address the basic hypocrisies I pointed out in the article & instead answered on the same emotional level as the arrogant fool in that article..
        As for where I’ve been and what I’ve faced, it is very unwise of you to assume such things about total strangers.
        Secondly here is some good advice for yourself. Too many arrogant fools such as the writer of that article, and fools such as yourself, always think what really matters is about the violence. Violence which they think they can get away with on whatever basis.
        It’s not about the violence, that’s not what really matters. What really matters is how far are you willing to take things?
        That is what matters, and what requires real courage, and applies to regular life as well as other things.

        Anon.

        • Says a guy who calls himself anon lol. Your advice has as much weight and authority as your name. BTW, your inner pussy is showing. Now go make a man a sandwich.

          • So lazy (s)he can’t spell out a’non’oh’mass [hehehehe] at the end of a lengthy retort.

            Duel at sunrise tomorrow .. if you can get up that early.

          • different anon

            I used to use my name online, some people reading this have met me. It was stupid then to use your real name without a reason to, it’s really fucking stupid now if your name isn’t already out there.

            No one cares about your e-penis

            • LOL .. no one .. with any sense .. uses his / her real name .. I use mine in my email address though.

              Using the same call sign / etc is good form though.

        • I’m not sure you can effectively say “they” are using ’emotional’ retorts when you sir (or ma’am) are calling people “fools”.

          But .. if you can’t have the courage to attach a name of any sort to your post .. I believe that would simply be “a bridge too far” for you.

          As a side note:
          I really would like to see dueling returned as a means to end disagreements of honor. I believe after a couple of events they would no longer be necessary.

    • Grenadier1

      Then hes not talking to you.

      Hes talking to the keyboard commandos who want to talk a big game but dont even know what they dont know.

      I didnt serve.
      I also have no illusions about my capabilities. I will forever be learning and trying to absorb information from guys who did to make myself as good as I can get without having that personal experience.
      Just keep doing your thing and dont get sand in your vagina if someone who has BTDT points that fact out. Even if you think the guy who points it out is doing it in a fit of arrogance, just nod, give him his due and go on about your business.

    • Being an 11B changes you. FOREVER.

      • Is that why you ran away? (According to your own story the infantry didn’t meet your standards.)/ S//

        • I was medically retired..

          Knee injury.

          • So… You’re a wheelchair bound cripple?

            There are people who have lost a leg and are still on AD. I know a man whose bones in one leg were shattered on a “crash and burn,” and he stayed AD until retirement.

            Yours must have been quite a knee boo-boo.

            S//

            • I was offered a REMF position.

              No thanks.

              and it was quite a boo boo. My leg was pointing downward, but my foot was up near my chin…

              Besides, the universe had bigger and better things planned for moi…

              • REMF. You’ve dated yourself.

                So, after (how long?) hospital, PT, and shattered dreams of a brilliant career in the infantry, you jumped on your motorcycle, told the Army “fuck you,” and rode off to make yourself an eleventygagillionaire?

                S//

                • let’s see.

                  entered in 82 and hopped to my new bike in 86 while still on crutches to PCS HOME. Received 2nd Hon discharge in 87.

                  no brilliant career- just good training, and hands-on experience in the use of Infantry weapons and tactics. Ironically, I found Bennings ITC the most difficult of all the schools I completed. Brains not bullets.

      • >>> Being an 11B changes you. FOREVER.

        No doubt about that, but it also has nothing to do with this. Whether he’s strong enough to admit it or not, fact is JC implicitly (sometimes explicitly) believes he has a claim, and worse that his claim may be gained by force. Oh yeah, and all the justifications about why he’s “earned” it. Yawn, there’s a fresh approach…it’s righteous that this guy should rule over that guy.

        Hell, the poor guy doesn’t know what either “earn” or “deal” mean, in any context except the one he’s directly experienced. If that, even. Formally it’s called being “concrete-bound.”

        In any event, there’s only one proper response to someone who intends to gains his desires by force, no matter how flowery the claims. It’s probably the one thing we all agree about.

        • Agree.

          JD is most likely a competent leader. That said, he has chosen a very dis-honorable line of work. Trampling on the God-given rights of others is bad ju ju. Enforcing the diktat of robed demons and slimy suit wearers is no way to earn a living.

        • “Whether he’s strong enough to admit it or not, fact is JC implicitly (sometimes explicitly) believes he has a claim, and worse that his claim may be gained by force.”
          Claim on what Klein?
          “Oh yeah, and all the justifications about why he’s “earned” it. Yawn, there’s a fresh approach…”
          There’s no justification, there are only facts. Non-mil and non combat experienced men want to know how it’s done, right? Or maybe you’ll just act like the know it all “I did it my way” asshole (because you’re a victim, a “Dick” is a victor) while you die in a puddle of you own piss and blood thinkin’ “I should have paid more attention to those who gave enough of a shit to try and help me for free.”
          “it’s righteous that this guy should rule over that guy.”command” and/or instruct have nothing to do with the use of the term “rule” that you use here.
          “Hell, the poor guy doesn’t know what either “earn” or “deal” mean, in any context except the one he’s directly experienced. If that, even. Formally it’s called being ‘concrete-bound.’.”
          I know what the term “Earn” means in the most serious definition of the term, Klein.
          “In any event, there’s only one proper response to someone who intends to gains his desires by force, no matter how flowery the claims. It’s probably the one thing we all agree about”
          Even if that were true, you wouldn’t. You’re the guy that will be scrubbin pots and makin sandwiches while the Men do the heavy lifting. OK, tell us Klein….where did the mean Staff Sergeant touch you? Me thinks it was your pussy…..AGAIN!

        • Jim, it’s been a little more pleasant and fruitful around here while you were gone. Why don’t you just take that shopworn schtick of yours and flog it somewhere among new younger ears who will buy in and fawn.

          You’ve been doing your one rhythm tap dance for so long, you’re completely out of step. Your echo chamber should be into white noise by now.

          An don’t bother to try to bait me with that Champion Hypocrite shit… no on here cares, least of all myself.

          As JC said, in case you managed to avoid/obfuscate it:

          “You’re the guy that will be scrubbin pots and makin sandwiches while the Men do the heavy lifting.”

          and everyone who’s been around since your prior attempted domination of every damned comments thread knows that too.

        • “…it’s righteous that this guy should rule over that guy.”

          Yes, it is.

          S//

        • That was genius JC…I can see ’em lining up for the Auxiliary now. Tell you what…take a close look at that next paycheck and see if you can figure out who keeps whom alive.

          Jon, I wouldn’t tie up this place but I find this important and for all of JC’s self-proclaimed courage, he doesn’t have the courage to allow my comments to fly at his place. Anyway…did you have ANYTHING to say, about ANYTHING under discussion? Other than about me, I mean. I get it; it’s that ol’ obsession with irrelevancy again. I wouldn’t bother about JC except it’s the topic and, as I mentioned, I find it important.

          If so, please cite something false that I wrote and have at it. If not, just carry on with your fantasy of everyone buying into the fables and dreams you imagine. Maybe it’ll happen by the time you’re 165.

    • “Because you’re infantry you’re now automatically a better man than the rest of us?”

      Yes.

      “…[O]ur actions do the talking.”

      That must be why people like you haven’t shown people like us shit.

      “Anonymous.” How manly.

      When I post here (and elsewhere) you know my name and see my picture. I am a real person. Unlike you, and the other anonymities w/gravitars.

      S//

  2. Randall Flagg

    IIRC, that photo is of the “Marlboro Marine” taken at Fallujah in 2004. Anyone know what he’s up to today?

  3. I’ll join you in the pool just to say that none of you can follow orders worth a tinkers damn.

    • I followed the directions provided .. I posted at his shop .. and then felt compelled to reply to the discussion here .. there was no madatory no fly zone set-up to prevent spill-over .. in my sea lawyer mind .. we followed his instructions to the letter.

    • +1! Most certainly not when it becomes being uncomfortable, training in a demanding environment, following constructive criticism, or when the price of becoming more skilled requires subordination of one’s ego to do so.

      • “…or when the price of becoming more skilled requires subordination of one’s ego to do so.”

        NOTHING can cause a man to become more skilled EXCEPT his ego. Not only that, you KNOW this. Every post of yours, and its appeal to how and why a man ought to motivate himself, makes this very clear.

        Following orders is NOT the subordination of the ego to others. It’s just following orders, duh. And only one thing can cause a person to do it properly. This is all simple and clear. The only interesting question is how–and why–so many vets came to believe otherwise. Might be a clue in that.

        • Apparently, my experience leading and teaching others in both military and civilian sectors is different from yours, as is my understanding of what motivates people and the conditions necessary for successful skill advancement or increased knowledge. It’s not ego, not at all, at least not in the sense my comment aimed at.

  4. The Usual Suspect

    A man join’s the Marines, becomes a Rifleman, go’s oversea’s and
    fights his country’s enemies, comes home, marries, fathers children
    but he is always there after still a Marine.

  5. It is too bad that most of the WWII combat vets are dead and gone and can’t be here to reign in all the bullshit in this pissing contest.

    My father, a WWII combat veteran, never puffed up or bragged or pretended to be anything more than a man who had a job to do. And the majority of his veteran acquaintances were the same way.

    Quiet men who did what they had to do. They also (rarely) spoke of the sick fucks who enjoyed killing other human beings. The military does use homicidal psychopaths to their advantage. Most soldiers are not though.

    No. I have no CIB. But I am 30% DAV. Combat was the last thing my father wished for me. Following in his footsteps would not have made him happy. It would have resulted in simple grim respect.

    • “My father, a WWII combat veteran, never puffed up or bragged or pretended to be anything more than a man who had a job to do.”

      Exactly, and that’s most people in most respects. The others want that “something else,” the something else that somehow they’ll control in him. Never happened, never could…but still they dream on.

      As to motivation, that’s an open question. Those sick-fucks you mention do exist, and they nearly all wear some sort of uniform these days. Still, for me charity demands that the explanation here is simple confusion and a failure to think clearly.

  6. Pingback: And the Argument Rages… | The Defensive Training Group