DTG: USAF Security Forces Ruck March Training Tips

Essential advice for the serious.

Read both DTG’s advice at the link above and the full text here:

Ruck Marching: Every Day Is Hump Day

In that order.

9 responses to “DTG: USAF Security Forces Ruck March Training Tips

  1. The original article (2d link) is great for additional tips, and a good training schedule to get up to speed.

    Thx for the links.

  2. Virgil Kane

    30% of current body weight or 30% of what you ought to weigh?
    Remember your audience.

    There is a 20yo son of my wife’s friend. I had not seen him in years and he wanted to hike the AT. He’s not the outdoors type. It turns out he weighed close to 300 pounds and some dumbass at REI told him he should shoot for 30% of his body weight for his pack weight. That made his momma happy, because she was worried about him having enough food. He lasted about a week on the trail. I have no idea how far he traveled.

    • Great question! I’m coming off ‘winter weight’ status (meaning I’m 10 pounds heavier than I should be (ideal weight is 170-175) so I should have a pack on that weighs no more than 55.5 pounds (not counting water in the ruck). My ruck currently weighs 66 pounds including right now, but I’m about a month into my ruck training schedule, and it balances really well. That’s about 33% of my current weight. As time goes on and I’m in better shape and lighter, I’ll actually up the weight and vary the distances more from 35 pounds and 3.5 miles (speed walks) until my max weight is 85 pounds and 10 miles (stamina walks) at training cycle peak to simulate LBE and M4gery. The idea is that should I have to do any real world rucking, I’ll not have to make a huge adjustment from 30% to real world loads that include my LBE & weapon.

      • SemperFi, 0321

        I weigh about 12-15 lbs more than when I got out in 1976.
        6′ and 170 lbs and when I hiked Yellowstone NP for a week 2 summers ago, my Osprey pack was around 55 lbs when we went in. At 62 yrs old, that is pushing the weight limit, I don’t recover like I did a decade ago.
        The other real hard part is getting gear that weighs nothing. Even though I have a 2 lb down bag and 5 lb tent, it adds up so fast you’re over 40 lbs before you know it. Mindboggling and frustrating.

  3. One gets a little lazy in the Cav. Toss your gear on the vehicle, add a fan, cooler, cot, folding beach chair, pogee bait, etc then drive or fly.
    But that’s not what we are trading for is it? We don’t have the luxury of all the Army resources, systems, or capabilities.
    No one is coming to save you.

  4. That came from Chad at Infadel Armor

    • Hey, you’re the Cavguy. So you’re supposed to be the one just over the next hill.

      Except real life ain’t the movies.

  5. Ha! As a former Mortarman Paratrooper, I WISH I could have humped a ruck 30% of my weight. 65-70 pound rucks were typical, then add the mortar tube (another 29 pounds) and 2-3 live rounds, another 12 pounds, most times we humped up to 50% plus of our body weight. Now in my early 50’s, I’ve got the knees and back to prove it. Wouldn’t trade it for the world tho. H-Minus!