The Things Men Do

On becoming one.

And letting one do so.

23 responses to “The Things Men Do

  1. Some Guy in WA

    Women are the worst.

  2. Excellent. Young dads, take careful note. Mine survived this stage, but only just. As did I.

  3. 35 years ago, at the age of 15, I convinced my parents to let me hike solo for 5 days along the mogollon rim trail. I packed a rifle. Different times maybe.

  4. TheAlaskan

    Timely. Just had a talk about “adventures” with my son, who is almost eight.

  5. Amen.

    Laws were minimal: outside of certain proscribed guidelines, Lord Ventinari believed that everyone in Ankh-Morpork should be free to do whatever they liked. He also believed they should be free to reap the consequences of doing whatever they liked. – Terry Pratchett

    • “you can wear any mask you want…even the Seadragonconquerer. Be aware that, should a seadragon appear, you will be called upon.”

      – Jack Vance

  6. just plain todd

    http://www.msn.com/en-us/news/us/massive-power-outage-hits-san-francisco-shuts-down-businesses-bart-station-traffic-lights/ar-BBA84Jm?li=BBnb7Kz

    hi CA, didn’t know where this should go. hopefully the hive tears itself up today. yuppies is gonna be lost without theys gubbmint. or starbucks and phones anyway.

    • DWEEZIL THE WEASEL

      Coincidence, the Norks, or the Deep State? False flag experiment? Time will tell, if you can believe the MSM.

  7. Word. No brainer, better to have one & not need it than not have one & need it.

  8. That was really good writing. Sure can identify with what the man said.
    Too many not only have forgotten, but have literally no idea what an axe, a shovel, and a rifle are for.

    I take those things for granted, and when somebody reminds me, like this writer, I thank God I’m so fortunate.
    The day these fundamental characteristics of Men become common way of part of life, the world will be immensely better off for it.

    Then men in suits will have no power.
    It will be men in denim, stout hearts, callused hands and a killers eye who will self determine the character of this land.

    • Exactly!!

      Made me think of Arragorn’s speech to the assembled warriors before the Black Gate of Mordor in the 3rd LOTR movies…”Men of the West, stand with me to defend the good earth..Men of the West, today we fight!!!”

      If boys are to become MEN then they must learn to experience life and take risks and be able to reap the rewards and learn from the consequences..good and ill (providing that it doesn’t critically injure or kill them in the process).

      Vin Supryonwicz in his book, “Ballad of Carl Drega” at one point takes on this very issue where he talks about the topic of the cops arriving at the door to ask the woman who answers it if she knows that her son was drinking and driving among other things.. When he mentions her ‘normal’ response of “My boy…no he wouldn’t do that!..my Sean’s a good boy” he says quite rightfully that such women are dangerous idiots that are emasculating their youths!

      I agree fully with Vin!

      Take your youngsters, especially your boys out and show them by example on what it is to be MEN!

      Yours in Daily Armed Liberty!
      NorthGunner III

  9. When I meet a young man with adventurous character
    I think of Huckleberry Finn. There was one around here
    which was a very outward bound young man, and while
    most did not want to interact with him, I did the opposite
    knowing of his family hardships and his willingness to learn
    and interact. When his mother finally took him back after
    about ten years, he was already prepped to use a saw-saw,
    wheel barrel, etc., and hopefully better manners. He is over in
    Oregon now, and spends a lot of weekends with his aunt
    and uncles mushroom farm.
    I hope I did good, with the couple of of & on years interacting with
    him, and pray he learned and got something good out of it.
    He is near Lebanon Oregon now. Miss him too. God be with
    him, love ones, and even strangers in his midst.

    “Every man to his family and his belongings”

  10. Today, I wouldn’t do most of the stuff I did back then.
    Age and wisdom will do that to ya.

  11. “It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat.”

    Theodore Roosevelt, 1910

  12. Safe spaces? What a cruel, crippling joke. What every young person yearns for in their heart is rite of passage. I recall reading somewhere the recollections of an old man who was a young lad of 12 along about 1890. He and his father rode horseback for two full days, at the end of which his father took both horses and rode home, simply saying “see you when you get back.” The lad had his clothes, a rifle, and a knife.

    I have raised three kids, all adults now. When kids are very young, they are going to hit the wall (or sidewalk, or something). You must let them. It may crush your heart to do it, but you must let them. They must learn—
    1) There are walls out there. Watch out.
    2) They must prove to themselves that they can get up, find the bandaid box, do what’s necessary, and press on.
    To not do this is to cripple them for life.

    • The problem is having a place to do that anymore.
      Heinlein’s fictional interplanetary travel as in Tunnel In The Sky
      is not yet an option.

  13. I like this post for the memories it brings back. I was 15 when a bunch of us youngsters took off for a two week backpacking trip. We went from Yosemite across the Sierras to Devil’s Postpile with map and compass. When I was four years old I was wandering in the woods with a Rottweiler and a Weimeraner. By the time I was 12 I was roaming the hills and woods with a .22. So, going across the Sierra was just a natural progression.

    Parents used to look at things differently. My mom was born in 1920 into a ranching family. My dad was born in 1930 into a farming, ranching family. Both parents had to grow up early, working hard and taking care of themselves. I’m glad they gave me the same freedom!

  14. “Luxury and authority are not good for a young man, and if he enjoys such things in his adolescence he is most unlikely to develop into a man of character. Therefore, as soon as the sons of the great were old enough to do for themselves, they were farmed out to the households of minor chiefs on the frontiers of the [Persian] empire. Their masters were told that the boys were to know no soft beds, no fine raiment, no rich food or wine, no philosophical complexities, no slave girls, and no money. What they were to learn was to ride like Cheiron, to shoot like Apollo, and above all to speak only the truth. With these three attributes they were deemed fit to return to court at the age of eighteen. What else they needed to know in order to become princes could then be imparted easily and quickly by their seniors.”
    — Jeff Cooper, “To Ride, Shoot Straight, and Speak the Truth”

  15. Hmm, our children have been taught from a young age to be independent. To be bold, to venture out. However we provided the fundimental skills sets and logic, to make their adventures awesome.

    My kids are 30 and 31, both were backpacking at 11 and 12 and did their first fifty miler on the Rogue River trail at that age. Our kids could skipper their own white water rafts thru class IV water at that age, and sail our sailboats on the lake ” day sail” back then. ” we had our kids in swimming lessons at 1 to 2 years old,

    Both had their own rifles and shotguns at roughly 13/15’Hell, my daughter took her AK47 and 10 mags, to college with her, up at Univesrsity of Portland.

    While I understand each is different, we instilled self awareness and common sense in our kids at a very early age.

    Yes their were failures, tears and scary moments, but life truly is the lesson.

    It would be nice if our kids learned from our mistakes, but that’s not how it works.

    My son routinely takes my eight year old grand son on 7 to 10 mile hikes weekly. He’s already got his own pack, his own .22 and pellet gun, also has his own little bug out pack, with real deal kit, and food for five days.

    Knows how to build a fire, how to ignite his canister stove, how to filter water, string his hammock. Double his wobbies for warmth. Been swimming since he was two, climbs at the Rock gym, and swears he’s seen big foot already.

    My three year old grandson is getting the same education.

    Anyways when my kids were 13,14,15 they did backpack on their own, in groups with friends. Did take the sailboat up the lake and were home by dark, with their friends often.

    At 16 both my kids were 4x4ing in my Toyota land cruiser, and we built him a Bronco lifted with 33s, he sold it,about four weeks ago. She got a forerunner but didn’t enjoy tearing it up, when she discovered the damage was covered by her money, not mine. Both were cross country runners and soccer players.

    I give a ton of credit to,my kids sucess to the cub scouts,,Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts etc etc.

    My wife and me wanted our kids to have a well balanced lives, knowing that they would get stuck in work mode for 30 years. We modeled what we thought life,should,look like. We left it up to them,,to pick it up. Or not.

    I do have a regret. Our kids are snow boarders, I was a down hill skier, still have my 230 and 215 skis, and Hanson rear entry boots. I wish I’d have had them try down hill on skis before the snow boards.

    Lastly my kids are solid cross country skiers, both capable of going for long distances, and both are accomplished winter campers. Their initial kit is still functional today, back then we purchased both not good kit, but great kit.

    They have both taken great care of that kit. It’s aged now, but still in solid working order.

    Both are accomplished mountain bikers,,and both were taught to rock climb and repell at an early age. I recently found my daughters climbing/ bouldering kit in a box, her force 10 rock climbing shoes and her harness beaners, cams, bolts were still attached to the rig, along with her powder bag. I cried when I found it. She’s flying home next week from Seattle. I’m sending her gear home with her.

    I’m pleased that my children Embraced, our outdoor life style. We live in an outdoorsman Meca.

    Sorry to ramble, life in the outdoors is a blessing. We pray our grand children embrace this way of life aswell.

    Dirk