Ham Radio Advice From Warrior Capitalist

Via MDT.

Shoot.

Move.

Communicate.

Support each.

7 responses to “Ham Radio Advice From Warrior Capitalist

  1. Great info. Got a shit load of those boafangs, the eight watters,, with real tall whip style antanna,o maybe 3 ft possibly four feet. I think Amazon. ” wasn’t in charge of that purchase”

    Not a clue what I’m doing, bet were pissing someone’s off. We have done extensive distance testing. The longer antenna Sure make a difference.

    Thank you.

    Dirk

  2. 3 years ago this sept I took all three tests and passed them all. No easy feat although no CW test, but zero radio/electrical/electronics background or experience. Now an extra class.
    Just 1 motivated dude with desire, capability and opportunity. And I work hard every day to refine the skill I have learned and to learn more.
    I have a “base” rig at the QTH.
    An all band all mode transceiver in the SUV with 2 rather obnoxious antennas (UHF/VHF and HF), but I do skywarn and tornado chasing for the local group.
    I also have a completely portable rig with several roll my own antennas.

    Just fucking do it.

    • How did you study for the trifecta? Any good books, coarse, whatnot to recommend? How long was your face in the books? I got my Tech card, failed the general, w/no study. Embarrassing. Gotta right the wrong ya know.

      • I agree with Walter. I did the online practice tests for a few weeks at QRZ.com until I could pass the tests with a 90. The real learning began once I got my radio and started doing. Keep after it, its fucking worth it.
        Baofeng anything is great as a test-bed and learning tool. Good general coverage radio but has lots of spurious emissions across the spectrum, not good..especially in a SHTF situation.
        Check out AMRRON. Excellent trade-craft there.

      • I used this online program. http://www.eham.net/exams/
        Passed all three FCC Ham levels 1st time, maxing Tech and Gen, missing one on the Extra. Put in about two weeks of daily study for an hour a day. You may not understand the concepts of radio communications, but you will be licensed and on the air. Find a local club and an Elmer, and you will build your knowledge base from there. As with anything, the more you put into it the more benefit you will receive. Ham radio is a robust and resilient form of commo that will survive all kinds of natural and manmade disasters. You can do it. 73s

  3. Walter Sobchak

    I found the practice tests at qrz.com really helpful. Not a huge fan of the Baofeng. There are mono and dual band vhf/uhf mobiles of 50-60 watts that offer so much more capability. They make great base stations with a power supply or you can put them in your vehicle. I definitely like this article it’s important that folks get communications ability. To me it seems essential to get the ham ticket to acquire the knowledge to operate these radios. 73

  4. I’m not the world’s biggest fan, either, but they are cheap and fairly easy to use. Most serious radio operators move them to tertiary/hand to someone else in about six months. Plus you can walk into the home of folks like us and get set up for that area in the time it takes to get a cup of coffee.

    More articles on a variety of subjects coming soon. Thanks to CA and MDT for spreading the word.