Banzai!

All via ZH.

2 responses to “Banzai!

  1. We’ll meet again
    Don’t know where
    Don’t know when
    But I know we’ll meet again some sunny day
    Keep smiling through
    Just like you always do
    ‘Till the blue skies drive the dark clouds far away

    So will you please say hello
    To the folks that I know
    Tell them I won’t be long
    They’ll be happy to know
    That as you saw me go
    I was singing this song

    We’ll meet again
    Don’t know where
    Don’t know when
    But I know we’ll meet again some sunny day

    We’ll meet again
    Don’t know where
    Don’t know when
    But I know we’ll meet again some sunny day
    Keep smiling through
    Just like you always do
    ‘Til the blue skies
    Drive the dark clouds far away
    So will you please say hello
    To the folks that I know
    Tell them it won’t be long
    They’ll be happy to know
    That as you saw me go
    I was singin’ this song

    We’ll meet again
    Don’t know where
    Don’t know when
    But I know we’ll meet again some sunny day

    The closing musical strains from Stanley Kubrick’s masterpiece,

    Dr. Strangelove, Or, How I Stopped Worrying and Learned To Love The Bomb

    It was The Sixties. I saw it in the first run at a full house showing, first rate theater. You never heard such uncomfortable laughter (Peter Sellers and the cast/writing were indeed incomparable and hilarious) and, after such hilarity, a somber and quiet crowd leaving the theater, conversing, if at all, in hushed tones.

    Seeing it after all these years, not having lived that Cold War tension, one cannot appreciate just how close to the bone that movie really was… IS.

    Is.