Guest Post From Brushbeater’s Place: “Go ahead, skin that smokewagon and see what happens” by Secret Squirrel

Worth your time.

As is practical range time.

21 responses to “Guest Post From Brushbeater’s Place: “Go ahead, skin that smokewagon and see what happens” by Secret Squirrel

  1. Big_Celebrant

    A pistol is a poor substitute for a battle rifle.
    But it’s kind of tough to bring your MBR (main battle rifle) to church, or the grocery store, or your kids little league game.
    There’s very little chance that you will be welcome at work with your rifle, your spare ammo, first aid kit, and commo gear strapped on. Many cannot even keep such kit in their trunk while at work, without fear of repercussions from the (((corporate))) authorities.
    So we need to select a daily-carry pistol with care, and practice with our chosen pistol diligently.
    And, if you’re not carrying it, you have no recourse to it in the moment of need – so you have to choose when and where to abide your overlords in their demand that you be disarmed.
    Me, I prefer to have options, regardless of what our ‘betters’ would have. Fuggem.

  2. Randall Flagg

    A handgun is merely a tool one uses to fight your way back to your rifle. ~Boston T. Party

    • Jimmy the Saint

      We respectfully disagree.
      – Zombie Abraham Lincoln
      Zombie James Garfield
      Zombie William McKinley
      Zombie Franz Ferdinand
      Zombie Sophie Ferdinand
      Zombie Robert Kennedy
      Zombie John Lennon

      Yeah, you guys would!
      – Zombie John Kennedy

      Shut up, John!
      – Zombie J.D. Tippit

  3. Wow, that was a surprisingly bad post for BB’s blog. It literally just recapped what has been being said for the last several years in every other handgun blog or forum post. I’m waiting for a hard hitting follow up how you need “a .22LR rifle, 12 Gauge shotgun, and AR-15” to survive the apocalypse. Could there be more tired advice? I mean I kept reading waiting for him to say “Notice I didn’t include the .380, while it can be effective in certain situations it isn’t effective enough to be considered a first choice for a combat pistol”. Disappointing.

    • You’re free to submit a better one.

    • “You’re free to submit a better one.” Indeed I am but unlike this article’s author I know when I have nothing original or insightful to add to the conversation. I’m not trying to get anyone butt hurt here but an article that can be summarized as “go out and buy a 9mm Glock” seems to fall short of the usual level of quality pieces I see posted on Brushbeater.

  4. thesouthwasrght

    I’m a fan of 40 SW myself. To me it’s nearly a perfect blend of the 9 and 45.

    So far as a handgun goes there is really only one and that is Glock. There are certainly other fine weapons, some more ergonomical out of the box even, but they are all follow ups of the benchmark. Hence I’m fine with the benchmark.

    • Big_Celebrant

      “So far as a handgun goes there is really only one and that is Glock. “

      I guess you’ve never shot a CZ or a Sig. Or a Kimber or Dan Wesson, for that matter.
      Then comes the question of “which Glock?” Or maybe that’s just me – I own a G19, a G20, two G22s, and a G23. At one time I owned a Ruger LC9 and then a G26 also, but the Sig 938 beat them both, hands down, and so they were sold.

      While I agree with you that Logistics (mags, spare parts, etc) and idiot-proof operation definitely give the Glock a place at the table, logistics also favors the 1911 pistols; and the Sig 938 is probably the best CC pistol ever made. The ergonomics of a CZ75 are light-years beyond that of the Glock, and their reliability is every bit as good, if not better.
      I own all of the above-named pistols, and each has their place – I own no ‘safe queens’; every one of these guns does carry-duty with me. Which one(s) depends on what I’m wearing, and where I’m going.

      To say, “there is only Glock”, is sophomoric at best, and unoecumenical at worst.

  5. Q: How do you get past TEOTWAWKI, and on to peace and tranquility? A: Practice, practice, practice.

  6. Sort of like “Rules for a gunfight”. KISS.

  7. DWEEZIL THE WEASEL

    Very good. Always remember a handgun is what you use to fight your way to your rifle, carbine, or shotgun. And, it is all about shot placement. In the officer-involved shootings which I investigated, there were not many rounds fired at all. But, the aggression was stopped quickly.
    I would recommend continued practice, at least once a month. Also, if you can afford it, attend a handgun training school such as Thunder Ranch. The training I received there, over 12 years ago, was equal to and even better than anything I received as a Peace Officer.
    As things continue to ratchet up, your best defense will be situational awareness. The best weapon you have is the one between your ears. LTC Cooper’s Color Code comes to mind. And to reiterate, the First Rule of any gunfight is: HAVE A GUN! Stay safe. Bleib ubrig.

    • Dweezel, if your at Thunder ranch, please come by for a face to face.

      Linemans coming up this to visit this Sunday, going to smoke a few tri tips, kick back and enjoy Al’s company.

      Dirk

      • DWEEZIL THE WEASEL

        Dirk: Thanks for the invite. I wish I could join you. My better half has a 70th birthday bash planned for the W/E. I will be back down your way in early 2018. Have some business in CA. I hope we can hook up over coffee or something stronger.
        I took the Tactical Handgun Course there in 06/2005. I could not afford to do it again even if they had a vacancy.

  8. A pistol is a tool. I have many many tools available for different jobs. I’m fortunate, to have multiple options. I did pick up a few 17s, back in the day. All three are three digit serial numbers.

    All are fantastic shooters, right out of their boxes. Over time, I did do the trigger weight drop. Also all three got night sights, and bigger mag buttons. All have their own Ted Blocker leather IWB holsters and belt holsters, and two mag holders. Also two Blocker shoulder rigs. ” a time, a place, for them even today.

    In the day, Blocker and Andrews, Broomland, Allici,
    were small mom pop shops with very high end holsters and related equipment. Reasonably priced, and great shit. These holsters are now pushing 35/37 years old, they just keep getting better with age.

    Also have milt sparks leather for each, also 35 ish years old now.

    I think my point is, in this day and age, it’s not enough to have a great gun. If you can’t ” field” said weapon quickly safely. To present a weapon one must have quality kit, in support of the weapon. That kit is the holster and mag holder.

    I’m amused that a lot of ” US” have gone to kydex holsters. I did, for about 26 minutes. I found kydex to be everything I hate about holsters. I gave those kydex holsters to my grandkids to play with.

    Lastly, it is a mistake to purchase a holster that does not meet your needs. I’ve literally had 100s of holsters since 1976 to present. All recommended by the latest gun rag, or pistolero.

    Over the years I’ve intentionally given all those holsters to other less fortunate folks. Most of those holsters were quality build, great holsters.

    They just didn’t meet my standard for long term comfort, conceal-ability with just a tee shirt or polo shirt, or my beloved Hawaiian shirts, ” have quit a collection”.

    An uncomfortable holster will get you busted. At some point an uncomfortable holster will get adjusted often, your adjusting the holster is a ” tell” I catch more people by their unconscious actions then all other reasons combined.

    Mexican carry. This new style, is perhaps the oldest style of carry around. Granted it can be wicked fast. But guaranteed to be very uncomfortable if carried long. I see the kids carrying Mexican, with kydex holsters I have to laugh. Looks really really uncomfortable,

    Actually saw a guy carrying a glock 21 Mexican about a month ago. I physically laughed at him. God dam that had to be brutal.

    DIrk

    • Big_Celebrant

      I’ve carried my Glock-20 Mexican on occasion… gotta keep your belt tight, or you end up with a 10mm trouser snake ;P
      In a non-permissive environment, Mexican may be your best option.

  9. Shoot what you’re comfortable with, period. Comfort makes things enjoyable and leads to more practice. My pistol preference is irrelevant to YOUR choice.

  10. Alfred E. Neuman

    Reblogged this on FOR GOD AND COUNTRY.

  11. glock 23 .40 really does have a vicious kick. But I’m stuck with it.

    • Big_Celebrant

      I’ve owned a Glock-23 since they first came out in the early 90s (I’m on a Gen 3, purchased in 2008 or 09, now) and I’ve never found the recoil of the G-23 objectionable. But then again, I started pistol shooting with a .45 ACP and .44Mag…

  12. Shinmen Takezo

    Note to CA–this link should merit it’s own thread.
    It is possibly the most important video to come out lately…

  13. Centurion_Cornelius

    A good read. Now–“AMMO UP!” men. Calibers–your choices. I’ve never seen prices this low on factory-made pills to cure what ails. This buyer’s market won’t last forever. Buy to use! Practice-practice.

    But–buy a few cases as “Future Whole-Life Insurance.” Drop all in .50 cal ammo cans, (optional desi pack therein for anti-humidity storage), seal up, and you, your kids and grand-kids are GTG. Future generations popping the lids off those M2A1s will happily exclaim: “Dang! He was smart to do this!”

    For FREEDOM!